Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
What a great recipe! I cut both sugars to a 1/2 cup each, substituted 3/4 cup apple sauce + 1/4 cup oil for the 1 cup oil recommended. They aren't oily at all this way! I have doubled and quadrupled the recipe so I could put a couple dozen muffins in the freezer before and since my son was born. They freeze great! The muffins I've kept out have been moist and delicious. Everyone asks for this recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Yummy, adaptable recipe! I had carrots and oats on hand, but not much else. I omitted all the extra stuff: raisins, coconut, pineapples and the cream cheese addition, and the muffins were moist had a good texture still. I followed the other reviews and replaced some of the oil with applesauce. Even good the next day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I run a kitchen at a retreat center and we have modified this recipe as a coffeecake (we just swirl in the cream cheese before baking). It is one of our most requested recipes. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
These muffins were very moist and light! 4 stars because I felt that they were a little bland and needed more spice. Following other reviewers' advice, I used 3/4c unsweetened apple sauce and 1/4c vegetable oil, and reduced brown and white sugars to 1/2c. I also plumped the raisins (boil in water for a few minutes), used whole wheat flour, and added more cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger, and cloves to give it a spicier taste. I also used a combination of whipped and flavored cream cheese for a quick cream cheese filling. Tasty! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
These were wonderful. I used other reviewers' suggestions, and reduced both sugars and used applesauce instead of oil and they were superb. Also omitted the cream cheese center but might try it sometime. The 2nd time I made these, I forgot I didn't have any pineapple and just added more carrots, raisins, and coconut. I keep getting asked for the recipe! And, my Dad (who NEVER likes "sweets" like this) wanted these as his 60th birthday treat. What a wonderful compliment! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayDubya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This yielded excellent results. I skipped the cream cheese center (hubby has prostate cancer so I eliminate dairy fats as much as possible). Still turned out great. I was very generous in my measurements of carrot and pineapple. Added a dash of nutmeg, handful of ground walnuts. I bet with the cream cheese these are awesome but feel free to skip that part to reduce fat - you'll still get a terrific muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Love these muffins! I also used 3/4 applesauce and 1/4 oil, instead of 1c oil, and the muffins were the perfect moistness and sweetness. I did use a bit less sugar though (about 1/2 cup of each sugar), I used sweetened applesauce so I wasn't sure how it would affect the sweetness. Made some with the cream cheese middle, didn't think it added that much but it tasted fine. I might not have used enough of the filling to make it noticeable enough. The filling did not seem to affect the texture or consistency of the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Delicious muffins! I made them a bit healthier by substituting 1/2 cup of applesauce for 1/2 cup of oil. Also, I wish I would have listened to the other reviews who said to skip the cream cheese. It doesn't really add much to the muffin. Next time, I'll skip the cream cheese centre and top some with cream cheese icing if I want a sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Great recipe! Don't overfill muffin tins (stick to 2/3 full), as they do not "puff" on top, and the collapsed tops aren't as attractive. Delicious, relatively healthy as muffins go, and freezes well- just reheat in microwave 35 seconds on 50% power. Thanks, Shonan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
These are delicious and I will make them again, soon, but will leave out most of the oil as they were too "greasy" for our tastes. I added about 1/4 cup of flaxseed meal for part of the all-purpose flour--great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States