Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
As other reviewers, I omitted all the final add-ins but the carrots and oatmeal. They are still great! I also used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil to cut down on the fat. My kids request these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
used applesauce instead of oil. Would skip cream cheese next time- it turned out funky. Other than that great moist muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very good! Skipped coconut, pineapples, and cream cheese. Should have reduced sugars when I substituted apple sauce for oil, but still very good. Didn't have the energy to shred more carrots, so only used 1.25 cups, which was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Very good muffin. I did not use pineapple juice or cream cheese as I did not have any, but it was still wonderfully moist. All children (and non-veggie/fruit eating hubby) gobbled these up like they were the biggest treat. Will keep making these with our garden-grown carrots! Added rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Took the advice of a number of others - 1/2 C each of the sugars and 3/4 C apple sauce and 1/4 C oil instead of 1 C oil. Also, I didn't use the cream cheese part of the recipe and I added a bit extra cinnamon with hopes of making it a bit more spicy, but it wasn't enough. Otherwise, very good recipe - very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Very delicious!The only problem is- muffins stick to baking cups, maybe I should have put half and half of oil and applesauce instead of 1/4 of oil and 3/4 of applesauce. They smell really nice and taste delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
took the suggestions of other reviewers and used 3/4 c. applesauce in place of the same amount of oil (so reduced the oil to 1/4 c.). I used more carrot and eliminated the coconut; used apple pieces instead of raisins. Reduced the amount of each of the sugars to 1/2 c. each. My son cannot get enough of these - he loves them. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I followed many of the suggestions (applesauce for oil, increased cinnamon). I also added nutmeg, about 1/2 teaspoon and increased the carrots to 3 cups. To top then I made a quick glaze to drizzle. They a re wonderful and sooo moist!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I'm always looking for ways to use up leftover carrot pulp from our juicer and I decided to give this recipe a try, using two cups of pulp rather than the grated carrots. I also subbed 3/4 cup applesauce + 1/4 cup oil instead of the 1 cup oil (as suggested by other reviewers), omitted the pineapple because I didn't have any on hand, and increased the cinnamon to 2 tsps. These were wonderful! :D I'll definitely be making these muffins again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Great recipe! I made it exactly as called for the first time and thought it was great, but abit oily. The second time I made them with applesauce instead of oil and they weren't oily and just as tasty!! I made them again, and forgot the oatmeal!! They were still good!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States