Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Definitely would make this again. I used 1 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup of white flour, substituted the oil with unsweetened applesauce and cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup. Baked mini muffins at 400 degrees for 14 minutes. Came out perfect! Very moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Just made these and with a few alterations. Extremely delicious, moist with bits of crunch. I also reduced both sugars to 1/2 cup each, doubled the coconut, soaked raisins in warm water and threw in 1/4 c. walnuts and 1t. vanilla and cinnamon. I omitted the cream cheese (didn't have any) and instead of oats I used a 1/4 c. flax seeds. Also substituted 3/4 c. unsweetened applesauce for oil. Then to spice them up, I used a cinnamon glaze made with powdered sugar (from another allecipes.com recipe). I know it's a lot of substitutions, but they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made this with my 4 year old daughter and we both loved it! No need for the cream cheese filling, but it would be great with a cream cheese frosting! We made ours in mini loaf pans and baked for 30+ minutes. Definitely use 1/4 c oil and the rest applesauce, and next time I might not add the coconut. I can't wait to share with my health conscious sister. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I too used 3/4c applesauce + 1/4c oil. I skipped the cream cheese, and the muffins are delicious, but my muffins stuck to the papers. I've made hundreds of muffins and haven't had this problem before. THe sticking made the muffins messy & ugly so I wouldn't give them to anyone/take them in anywhere, but for us at home they're fine. EDIT: After 2 days, the muffins are still moist and tender and no longer stick to the papers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
As other reviewers, I omitted all the final add-ins but the carrots and oatmeal. They are still great! I also used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil to cut down on the fat. My kids request these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
used applesauce instead of oil. Would skip cream cheese next time- it turned out funky. Other than that great moist muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very good! Skipped coconut, pineapples, and cream cheese. Should have reduced sugars when I substituted apple sauce for oil, but still very good. Didn't have the energy to shred more carrots, so only used 1.25 cups, which was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Very good muffin. I did not use pineapple juice or cream cheese as I did not have any, but it was still wonderfully moist. All children (and non-veggie/fruit eating hubby) gobbled these up like they were the biggest treat. Will keep making these with our garden-grown carrots! Added rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Took the advice of a number of others - 1/2 C each of the sugars and 3/4 C apple sauce and 1/4 C oil instead of 1 C oil. Also, I didn't use the cream cheese part of the recipe and I added a bit extra cinnamon with hopes of making it a bit more spicy, but it wasn't enough. Otherwise, very good recipe - very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Very delicious!The only problem is- muffins stick to baking cups, maybe I should have put half and half of oil and applesauce instead of 1/4 of oil and 3/4 of applesauce. They smell really nice and taste delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States