Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I just made these and they were DELICIOUS, even my picky 14yr old that hates almost everything lived them!!! I followed other's advice and cut both sugars to 1/2 cup each, 1/2 cup oil and added one little snack sized cup of applesauce. I also used the bagged shredded carrots as I had some left over in my fridge. They are moist and yummy! Next time I think I will add a little ground flaxseed for a little boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I changed these up based on what I had in stock. I used 1/3 white flour, 1/3 whole wheat flour, 1/3 spelt flour (spelt adds a little nutty flavor). Instead of 1 c. oil, I went 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. milk. Also added: 1/2 tsp. coconut extract, 1/2 c. ground flaxseed, and 1/2 c. walnuts. Skipped the cream cheese filling, pineapple, raisins, and coconut because I didn't have any of these. I just loved them. They are my new favorite muffin. Thanks for such a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
awesome!!! will make 100 more times. I replaced half the carrots with zucchini and lightened up on the sugar a little. they were still very sweet and very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Morgan*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I changed some things, because I think it's a great recipe to start with and so easy to customize. I was looking for a way to get more fruit and veggies into my kids, so I did all the basic "healthy" changes as noted by others: used all whole wheat flour, added about 1/4 cup ground flaxseed, cut back on the sugar (1/2 cup each), used 1.5 tsp cinnamon and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, subbed unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 the oil, and didn't do the cream cheese filling (it sounded good, but honestly I was feeling lazy). The muffins have a nice taste and texture, though next time I think I'll grate the carrots more finely and also shred the coconut more in the food processor, because the long strands of each were a bit unappealing in the muffin. I think carrots grated on a box grater would be the perfect "shred" size, but I used my shredding disc on the processor and they were kind of big. The verdict: both kids INHALED them! I have a fairly picky 16-month-old who is not a big veggie fan and she was shoveling handfuls of muffin into her mouth. Score! P.S. they also froze very well, although I didn't really need to freeze them as the kids are eating them so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These were very yummy! I took them to a breakfast playdate where they were enjoyed by adults and kids alike! As per other reviews, I added a pinch of nutmeg and substituted some applesauce for the oil (about 1/3) and they turned out delicious! Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
These are excellent muffins. To make them vegan and a little more healthy, I substituted mashed silken tofu for the eggs (1/4 cup per egg) and applesauce for half of the oil. I omitted the cream cheese and had no pineapple on hand, so I added a splash of orange juice to compensate for the moisture and tangy flavor. Each recipe made 12 muffins for me, and I quadrupled the recipe to feed a 50-person co-op house. They were gone after just a few hours! The muffins are super moist and delicious. NOTE: I also made these again, substituting in unsweetened cocoa powder for the white flour, adding chocolate chips instead of raisins, and making all the same omissions/substitutions as mentioned before. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Made these delicious muffins several times. I cut back the sugars to 1/2 cup each, and used all purpose flour. The first time I used 1 cup of each whole wheat and white flour and thought it took away from the moistness of the muffin. Carrots, pineapple and raisins are a must, but if you haven't any coconut, it won't hurt any. As far as mixing the cream cheese with the pineapple juice, I just cut the cream cheese into little cubes and pushed them down into the center of the muffin before baking. These are by far the best muffins I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidiv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Felton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I didn't have pineapple or coconut when I made this recipe, so I tossed in some chopped nuts and chopped dried apricot instead. It came out lovely, and the muffins I froze and later defrosted were even better. I didn't worry about putting the cream cheese in the middle, just spread it on top. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
These are delicious, but they were super soft and took forever to bake through. I followed the recipe exactly (which I actually rarely do), and they were still hard on the top but mushy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I found muffins similar to these at a grocery store bakery years ago, and have been looking for the recipe ever since. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States