Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
These are excellent muffins. To make them vegan and a little more healthy, I substituted mashed silken tofu for the eggs (1/4 cup per egg) and applesauce for half of the oil. I omitted the cream cheese and had no pineapple on hand, so I added a splash of orange juice to compensate for the moisture and tangy flavor. Each recipe made 12 muffins for me, and I quadrupled the recipe to feed a 50-person co-op house. They were gone after just a few hours! The muffins are super moist and delicious. NOTE: I also made these again, substituting in unsweetened cocoa powder for the white flour, adding chocolate chips instead of raisins, and making all the same omissions/substitutions as mentioned before. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Made these delicious muffins several times. I cut back the sugars to 1/2 cup each, and used all purpose flour. The first time I used 1 cup of each whole wheat and white flour and thought it took away from the moistness of the muffin. Carrots, pineapple and raisins are a must, but if you haven't any coconut, it won't hurt any. As far as mixing the cream cheese with the pineapple juice, I just cut the cream cheese into little cubes and pushed them down into the center of the muffin before baking. These are by far the best muffins I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidiv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Felton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I didn't have pineapple or coconut when I made this recipe, so I tossed in some chopped nuts and chopped dried apricot instead. It came out lovely, and the muffins I froze and later defrosted were even better. I didn't worry about putting the cream cheese in the middle, just spread it on top. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
These are delicious, but they were super soft and took forever to bake through. I followed the recipe exactly (which I actually rarely do), and they were still hard on the top but mushy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I found muffins similar to these at a grocery store bakery years ago, and have been looking for the recipe ever since. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Delightful muffins that can be changed up easily to meet different tastes. I totally forgot to add the oatmeal and it didn't make any difference except maybe in the fiber content! I didn't plan ahead and soften the cream cheese but I cut the cold block into small cubes (like dice sized) and just added them to the partially filled cups. Worked fine! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Made some changes. Everything is the same except: all brown sugar no white sugar, 1 cup of applesauce and no oils whatsoever, 2 tsp of cinnamon, no coconut, no raisins, no cream cheese, and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. Husband loved it. Will be a keeper but will try it will white sugar along w/the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I give this recipe 5 stars, even though what I made was different that the original recipe. Like others, I used all whole wheat flour, 3/4 c applesauce & 1/4 cup canola oil, increased the cinnamon and added cloves and ginger, and omitted the pineapple, coconut, raisins, and cream cheese. What I got was a super healthy, moist, filling, delicious muffin! Thanks for the recipe! (and for the suggestions by the reviewers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These really hit the spot. My kids are eating them up quick! The only differences in my batch of muffins is: I used all white whole wheat, I cut back a little on the sugar, I used applesauce instead of pinneapple (only cause I didn't have any) and I blended the cream cheese with orange juice. YUMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is a wonderful muffin recipe. Here are my changes: 1. I used 2 individual cups of granny smith applesauce in a 1 cup measuring cup and topped it off with canola oil to make one cup of liquid. 2. I used the equivalent of 1 egg white and two whole eggs. 3. I didn't use coconut or pineapple. I did briefly boil the raisins in a vanilla-laced water mixture. 4. I didn't make the cream cheese filling. I will make a cream cheese frosting to go on top. I made these for my son's preschool class where we have to bring healthy snacks to share. I figured these were as healthy as you could get! My boys taste tested one and deemed them "Yummy!" :) I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States