Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I left out all the fillings. To make it more healthy, I used whole wheat flour for all purpose and used apple sauce for oil. Next time I'll use apple sauce to completely substitute oil since I don't think it will make too much difference. I left out all the fillings such as coconut raisins cream cheese and pineapples. I added a tblsp of wheat germ and another tblsp of flaxseed and a bit of pecan and walnuts. covered the top of the muffin with almond slices. GREAT FLAVOR AND SO HEALTHY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
These muffins were really tasty! I made all the modifications of other reviewers. Using half the sugar, added nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. clove and ground ginger, 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/4 cup canola oil. I topped them with a sprinkling of flax seed meal. I love the cream cheese filling and would suggest making a nice deep well in the muffin cup to put two tsp. of filling in it! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I had carrots, pineapple, and cream cheese to use but didn't want to make a cake. This popped up on an ingredient search. I thought they were really good, but I did make some changes. I subbed plain greek yogurt for half the oil, and the oil I used was an orange-infused olive oil. To complement that, I also added some orange peel. I used all whole wheat flour and toasted coconut. For the spice, I added cardamom, nutmeg, and allspice in addition to the cinnamon...total of about 1- 1 1/2 tsp. I finely shredded my carrots based on other reviewer's comments, and I recommend that. I also added a good dose of vanilla. They took longer to bake for me, but they turned out moist and dense like a carrot cake, and I am happy with them. As others have noted, these do not rise like a traditional muffin, and the tops are flat. That doesnt' bother me at all, but take note if you like the high muffin tops. Next time I make them, I think I'll cut back on the sugar a bit and sweeten the cream cheese filling a little. The pineapple juice didn't really flavor the cream cheese, and I'd leave that out next time. If you like carrot cake, you'll like these muffins! They are a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These were EXCELLENT!!! I left out the cream cheese filling in some. I agree it didn't add much! will make again and again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Richmond Hill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have long looked for a muffin recipe to use the pulp from my juicer that I like. Instead of the 2 cups carrots, I used 2 cups of the pulp which included carrots, apples, beets, lemon, ginger root, jicama, even celery. OMGosh, these are fabulous! Next time I may try to make them a little "healthier" by using applesauce in place of some of the oil and by cutting the sugar slightly, but for now, they couldn't be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I just made these and they were DELICIOUS, even my picky 14yr old that hates almost everything lived them!!! I followed other's advice and cut both sugars to 1/2 cup each, 1/2 cup oil and added one little snack sized cup of applesauce. I also used the bagged shredded carrots as I had some left over in my fridge. They are moist and yummy! Next time I think I will add a little ground flaxseed for a little boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I changed these up based on what I had in stock. I used 1/3 white flour, 1/3 whole wheat flour, 1/3 spelt flour (spelt adds a little nutty flavor). Instead of 1 c. oil, I went 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. milk. Also added: 1/2 tsp. coconut extract, 1/2 c. ground flaxseed, and 1/2 c. walnuts. Skipped the cream cheese filling, pineapple, raisins, and coconut because I didn't have any of these. I just loved them. They are my new favorite muffin. Thanks for such a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
awesome!!! will make 100 more times. I replaced half the carrots with zucchini and lightened up on the sugar a little. they were still very sweet and very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Morgan*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I changed some things, because I think it's a great recipe to start with and so easy to customize. I was looking for a way to get more fruit and veggies into my kids, so I did all the basic "healthy" changes as noted by others: used all whole wheat flour, added about 1/4 cup ground flaxseed, cut back on the sugar (1/2 cup each), used 1.5 tsp cinnamon and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, subbed unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 the oil, and didn't do the cream cheese filling (it sounded good, but honestly I was feeling lazy). The muffins have a nice taste and texture, though next time I think I'll grate the carrots more finely and also shred the coconut more in the food processor, because the long strands of each were a bit unappealing in the muffin. I think carrots grated on a box grater would be the perfect "shred" size, but I used my shredding disc on the processor and they were kind of big. The verdict: both kids INHALED them! I have a fairly picky 16-month-old who is not a big veggie fan and she was shoveling handfuls of muffin into her mouth. Score! P.S. they also froze very well, although I didn't really need to freeze them as the kids are eating them so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These were very yummy! I took them to a breakfast playdate where they were enjoyed by adults and kids alike! As per other reviews, I added a pinch of nutmeg and substituted some applesauce for the oil (about 1/3) and they turned out delicious! Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States