Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
After reading quite a few reviews and not wanting super sweet muffins, I decided to scale the sugars to 1/2 cup each. And I've substituted applesauce in many recipes for part of the oil with great success so I knew that would work fine for this recipe also; I used 1/2 cup applesauce in place of 1/2 the oil. And due to laziness and wanting to get out of the kitchen after baking 4 muffin recipes in a row really late in the evening, I skipped the cream cheese step and didn't add raisins because I didn't have any. These didn't rise alot so next time I would consider filling to the top of the muffin tin. The result was a nice moist tender flavorful muffin! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I used less white sugar and in place of half of the oil that was called for I used low fat plain yogurt. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made these with fresh chopped apples instead of canned pineapple and left out the raisins. I also used a 12 grain flour instead of whole wheat. I made one tray of mini muffins without the cream cheese and one tray of regular ones with the cream cheese. The cream cheese was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Not too bad, I liked that they weren't sweet! I took advice on the adjustments, here's what I did... cut sugars down to 1 cup, added 2 tsp of nutmeg, doubled the cinnamon, cut the oil to 1/4 cup and added 3/4 cup orange juice. I did not add the pineapple, but next time I will. I also let the raisins soak in water to plump a bit. I will also omit the coconut next time to see if there is a difference, I have my doubts. I also doubled the baking soda, filled the cups (I used mini tins as well). The result was nice, puffy muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is a great base muffin recipe. I use it for most of my muffins. Today I omitted the cream cheese filling and substituted 1.5 cups fresh crushed blackberries for the raisins. I had to add 1/2 cup of milk to batter as it was way too thick. I would have used applesause if I had any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Awsome and very versatile. I mean, look at those ingredients! Substituting applesauce for some of the oil would make it 5 stars. For those whose muffins weren't rising, try letting your batter stand for 30 minutes before baking. That allows glutens to form and starches to hydrate which prevents your batter from spreading while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made these for my picky 1 year old and he loves them. My only complaint is that they came out sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I loved these and so did hubby! Felt 'healthy' yet substantial! Made 12 large muffins. Small modifications - 1/2 cup oil and added a little caster sugar to the cream cheese. Took 25 mins to bake but made mistake of baking longer as tester kept coming out a bit wet. Doh!!! Because of the cream cheese filling!!! So stick with 20-25 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I tend to lower fat & sugar in recipes without sacrificing flavor. I reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and added 3/4 cup of home made low sugar applesauce, and did not use the white sugar in the recipe, only the brown. As well I used dried cranberries instead of the raisins, as that is what I had on hand. The flavor was really nice, and the muffin stayed moist for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States