Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I also modified this recipe by not adding the cream cheese filling. I did make some substitutions after reading the review, like using less sugar (1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup splenda baking substitute) and substituting some of the 3/4 of the oil with apple sauce. I also used Craisins instead of raisings. This recipe, as the poster suggested would be great with substituting what you have on hand. I did use the pineapple, carrots, Craisins, coconut, etc and the end result was a very moist muffin but you really could not taste each individual ingredient so I don't think any one of the fruits added to the flavor but did add to the moistness. Hope that makes sense, in the future I wouldn't go out of my way to get coconut for example if I didn't have it on-hand already and this recipe would still be a great moist muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
well i am an experienced baker and these did not turn out.this is my first review .they did not hold there shape and were flat on top.i did not add raisins or coconut though.they came out of the pan in pieces.but the flavor is good, i will look for another recipe with carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is my recipe, it is a very old recipe now! My original recipe said to use unsweetened coconut and unsweetened pineapple, so that is what I use! I have also been making it with 3/4 cup of oil. You would not need all the oil if you use all white flour, the whole wheat flour absorbs more moisture so it needs the extra oil (or oil substitutes) as well as the unsweetened coconut being drier and absorbing more moisture. I came up with the cream cheese on the inside so that I can pack it in lunches and get a carrot cake type snack that was easily transportable! Thanks to all who have tried this over the years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Used only one cup sugar. Most ww. Flour. Half coconut oil ,half applesauce. Soak raisins. Just a little pineapple juice in cream cheese. Nice surprise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
After reading quite a few reviews and not wanting super sweet muffins, I decided to scale the sugars to 1/2 cup each. And I've substituted applesauce in many recipes for part of the oil with great success so I knew that would work fine for this recipe also; I used 1/2 cup applesauce in place of 1/2 the oil. And due to laziness and wanting to get out of the kitchen after baking 4 muffin recipes in a row really late in the evening, I skipped the cream cheese step and didn't add raisins because I didn't have any. These didn't rise alot so next time I would consider filling to the top of the muffin tin. The result was a nice moist tender flavorful muffin! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I used less white sugar and in place of half of the oil that was called for I used low fat plain yogurt. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made these with fresh chopped apples instead of canned pineapple and left out the raisins. I also used a 12 grain flour instead of whole wheat. I made one tray of mini muffins without the cream cheese and one tray of regular ones with the cream cheese. The cream cheese was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Not too bad, I liked that they weren't sweet! I took advice on the adjustments, here's what I did... cut sugars down to 1 cup, added 2 tsp of nutmeg, doubled the cinnamon, cut the oil to 1/4 cup and added 3/4 cup orange juice. I did not add the pineapple, but next time I will. I also let the raisins soak in water to plump a bit. I will also omit the coconut next time to see if there is a difference, I have my doubts. I also doubled the baking soda, filled the cups (I used mini tins as well). The result was nice, puffy muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is a great base muffin recipe. I use it for most of my muffins. Today I omitted the cream cheese filling and substituted 1.5 cups fresh crushed blackberries for the raisins. I had to add 1/2 cup of milk to batter as it was way too thick. I would have used applesause if I had any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Awsome and very versatile. I mean, look at those ingredients! Substituting applesauce for some of the oil would make it 5 stars. For those whose muffins weren't rising, try letting your batter stand for 30 minutes before baking. That allows glutens to form and starches to hydrate which prevents your batter from spreading while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States