Carrot Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
took the suggestions of other reviewers and used 3/4 c. applesauce in place of the same amount of oil (so reduced the oil to 1/4 c.). I used more carrot and eliminated the coconut; used apple pieces instead of raisins. Reduced the amount of each of the sugars to 1/2 c. each. My son cannot get enough of these - he loves them. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I followed many of the suggestions (applesauce for oil, increased cinnamon). I also added nutmeg, about 1/2 teaspoon and increased the carrots to 3 cups. To top then I made a quick glaze to drizzle. They a re wonderful and sooo moist!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I'm always looking for ways to use up leftover carrot pulp from our juicer and I decided to give this recipe a try, using two cups of pulp rather than the grated carrots. I also subbed 3/4 cup applesauce + 1/4 cup oil instead of the 1 cup oil (as suggested by other reviewers), omitted the pineapple because I didn't have any on hand, and increased the cinnamon to 2 tsps. These were wonderful! :D I'll definitely be making these muffins again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Great recipe! I made it exactly as called for the first time and thought it was great, but abit oily. The second time I made them with applesauce instead of oil and they weren't oily and just as tasty!! I made them again, and forgot the oatmeal!! They were still good!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Love this recipe. I followed some other suggestions. Cut both sugars to 1/2 cup each. Changed the oil to 1/4 cup and added 3/4 cup applesauce. Also, I added a tsp. of apple pie spice which was an excellent addition. I skipped the cream cheese center idea. These are so yummy you could make a cream cheese icing instead and serve them as a dessert. Thanks for a superb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
These were delicious. I made them for a function and they didnt last 30 minutes. I did cut the oil by using the applesauce/oil. Now I dont know what happened with my cream cheese mix but I didnt really like it. I dont know if it was the mix with the pineaple juice or what. So next time I will leave the cream cheese filling out. They are so rich I didnt think it was necessary. I was able to make 50 mini muffins with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
My husband, two year old, and I can't stop eating these. Our favorite version is using 2 c whole wheat pastry flour, 3/4 c applesauce & 1/4 c oil, adding 3/4 c chopped walnuts and a little shredded zucchini, and leaving out the cream cheese filling. We spread them with a little honey butter...so good! And I don't feel guilty eating them either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
very good. i will make these again. I used 1/2 cut of both sugars. I used apples instead of pineapple or coconut and I did not add the creamcheese filling. I also used half oil and half apple sauce. This is a good way to use up carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I am a huge muffin fan... especially carrot... but this recipe is nothing special. This sounded like such a great combo with the carrot, coconut, pinapple, & cream cheese, but the results were dismal. First of all this makes 24 muffins. Next although there is nothing wrong with oats and whole wheat flour, they do NOT mingle well with pineapple, carrots, or cream cheese, and with a cup of oil and almost 2 cups of sugar, there is absolutely no point trying to makie these "healthy." The muffins did turn out pretty and had a relatively nice texture, but the flavor was just nothing special. If you do make these, take a shortcut by buying the "brick" style cream cheese and then cutting small pieces to stick into the batter of each muffin. There is absolutely no reason to thin it out with juice, it will just make it runny and difficult to work with. Overall if you have had your share of muffins, keep looking because this recipe is sub-par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Yummy, adaptable recipe! I had carrots and oats on hand, but not much else. I omitted all the extra stuff: raisins, coconut, pineapples and the cream cheese addition, and the muffins were moist had a good texture still. I followed the other reviews and replaced some of the oil with applesauce. Even good the next day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States