Carrot Ginger Creme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This recipe is delicious and easy. Used coconut milk, fresh ginger and nutmeg. Delicious, will be making this regularly. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
For those who state that this soup is bland - try adding a couple of teaspoons (or more to taste) of acid, like vinegar or maybe lemon juice. Add it just before serving. I have made this several times and often use just plain white vinegar. Try it, I think you'll find that's what is missing. Also, if i want to change it up a bit and make it vegan, I replace the half and half with low fat coconut milk. It's yummy that way too. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Mockenhaupt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very tasty. Although next time I will add pepper with vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turku, Varsinais-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was a simple carrot soup to make. I made a few changes to the recipe though. I used fresh minced ginger in place of ground ginger. This I sautéed with the onion. I used heavy cream in place of the half and half. One thing I added that definitely went well with this was nutmeg. This was an interesting and satisfying recipe to make. Fun way to use carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
If you love ginger like I do, grind some nutmeg into the pot with the ginger to kick up the flavor. This came out very well and was easy to make -- I used my immersion blender to blend ingredients in the same pot -- no waiting for it to cool or transferring, much easier. Next time, I think I would use less milk (it tasted too rich to me with the half and half).. coconut milk might be a nice substitute. Be sure to add lots of freshly ground pepper! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Fantastic!! I doubled the recipe as I had a ton of carrots from my garden. I then used only 3 cups of half and half rather than 4 as it was quite creamy at that point. Very good and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is the best carrot soup recipe I've made so far. I did use 6 tbs butter instead of 2 tbs oil and I used water and chicken bouillon instead of vegetable broth. I doubled the ginger as other reviewers suggested and used a lot of black pepper to give it flavor. Thanks, I'll definitely make this again. It's very easy to throw together with what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
ok, great ideas on this soup. Now I am going to put some of them in my pot. Will let you know he result. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as-is but found it to be very bland. I added a lot of salt and pepper and additional ground ginger to increase the flavor. Using fresh grated ginger would probably help. If I make it again I would try some of the other suggestions to add orange juice, or sour cream. I used a blender and the consistency was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I'm not a huge fan of carrots, but I love this soup! It's nice and creamy. I tend to make it a little healthier though and use skim milk instead of half and half. I've also made it vegan by using coconut milk instead. It's great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States