Carrot Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I am 77 and have made this salad for years as my mother before. Lost the recipe and "voila" after 6 years I found it. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I also make my own dressing. Heavy cream, mustard, vinegar and sugar. I can not give you amounts as I do it to taste. It really makes the salad, though. I forgot, I also add finely chopped celery. I have an old fashioned hand grinder. Does the carrots great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I bought orange jello by mistake, but I don't think it mattered. I didn't have crushed pineapple so I just chopped up some rings. I also only used two large carrots. I had four, but 2 seemed like plenty and this was still delicious. Obviously very versatile recipe. I will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Reduced Sugar Option: I love this salad but have diabetic relatives who carefully watch their carb counts. To reduce the carbs per serving, I have made this recipe with sugar-free jello (either lime, lemon or orange) and, instead of adding the extra carbs of the pineapple juice, substitute either sugar free lemon-lime soda OR Minute Maid light lemonade (from the soda aisle). Tastes great and has fewer carbs per serving. Try it and enjoy! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevenson Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
My Grandma called it Sunshine Salad and I loved it - she would make a dressing out of miracle whip, a bit of sugar and thin it with a little milk. Top the salad with that and YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is really good I am a diabetic so I used sugar free strawberry jello and lite pineapple chunks, shredded carrots and celery chopped real fine, my grandson ate it up not actually knowing how good it was for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I have made this a few times now and I love it! I have tried it with crushed pineapple and also with pineapple tidbits and I preferred the tidbits for a few reasons.. one being I was able to drain the juice and also the texture & size of the little tidbits was perfect. Also I prefer strawberry gelatin but like the orange also... next I will try with lime gelatin and also going to try a strawberry-banana one too :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra
Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
my Grandma always used orange jello. always a little something of hers that I remember : ) nothing fancy- but oh, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
We call it sunshine salad. Its a great way to sneak veggies into little ones who wont eat their veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is just great! I make a double batch and put it in small, single serving containers for snacks and desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This takes me WAY back to my childhood when my grandma would make this for special family dinners. My nephew requested this after hearing stories about it for years. This was the only recipe I could find, and it was exactly as I remembered. Of course I had to find an old jello mold to make it just has grandma had. It turned out perfect and was a hit. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States