Carrot Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My mother always used lime jello but all I had was orange this time so I added orange soda for the cold liquid and after it thickened, I whipped it with my mixer. Then folded in grated carrots and finely sliced celery. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barron, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Springbrook, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Very good - not too sweet. I don't care for baby carrots, so I just sliced up carrots for this and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This jello is so good! We have it every Thanksgiving and has been a recipe my family has been using for three generations. The carrots give it great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Excellent! The crunch of the carrots almost makes you think there is nuts in it. Perfect balance of taste with lots of carrots. Wonderful colour to add to a table. Great Salad, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
VERY good! Mom used to make this and was one of the first things I learned to make. Lost the recipe but found this one. We called it carrot-pineapple salad, but the recipie is the same! thanks for sharing it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Great recipe. Super easy. My Grandma always uses orange jello. This is always a holiday favorite as the bright color pairs well with other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
great salad!!! however I do like better when made with lime jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Oh yes, I remember mom making this salad back in the day. She called it Complexion Salad - said that it was great for your skin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
GREAT RECIPE. we have also made one similar to this at the nursing home where I am the dietary manager at. Our residents have always called it sunshine salad. Isn't amazing all the different names that this has
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I love this salad and have been making it for years!! It is great if you are on a diet and use sugar-free jello. Substituting orange jello for lemon is my favorite. I also mix all the ingredients together at the same time (not chilling the jello then adding the pineapple and carrots. Do not use store bought shredded carrots. Shred them yourself on a grater (better texture than in a food processor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYONLOGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States