Carrot Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
My family cannot get together without this salad. My dad and I will even fight over the left overs! lol We mix some Miracle Whip with milk to make it smooth like a creamy salad dressing, then a bit of sugar, dash of salt and small sprikle of pepper. This zippy topping is amazing; sorry grandma never measured and it is to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My mom in law made this salad or a version of it and it was really different and tasty. She used lime jello (she said any citrus flavor would do-good with lemon also), she added small chopped celery, shrredded or chopped fine apple, shredded cabbage, a bit of pineapple and carrots- the amounts of each are to your liking or what you have on hand, and last but not least, onion. Yes, onion. She always served it cut in squares on lettuce with a dollop of mayonaise sprinkled with paprika on the side. It looked special and it always added a refreshing treat to our meal. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirl110

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This classic jello salad always reminds me of Thanksgiving at home when I was growing up! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Excellent! The crunch of the carrots almost makes you think there is nuts in it. Perfect balance of taste with lots of carrots. Wonderful colour to add to a table. Great Salad, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Very good - not too sweet. I don't care for baby carrots, so I just sliced up carrots for this and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This jello is so good! We have it every Thanksgiving and has been a recipe my family has been using for three generations. The carrots give it great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My mother always used lime jello but all I had was orange this time so I added orange soda for the cold liquid and after it thickened, I whipped it with my mixer. Then folded in grated carrots and finely sliced celery. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barron, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Springbrook, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I love this salad and have been making it for years!! It is great if you are on a diet and use sugar-free jello. Substituting orange jello for lemon is my favorite. I also mix all the ingredients together at the same time (not chilling the jello then adding the pineapple and carrots. Do not use store bought shredded carrots. Shred them yourself on a grater (better texture than in a food processor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYONLOGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My carrots turned somewhat brown. Taste and texture were awful. Not to my liking. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was a holiday favorite at Grandma's house! Grandma also sometimes added some shredded cabbage if she had some. Great way to get the kids to eat their veggies. Please pass the lemon jello :). I give this recipe 10 stars for nostalgia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States