Carrot Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
1 pound of carrots equals about 3 cups chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I roasted the peeled cut up carrots with a little olive oil and a few peeled garlic cloves in a 450 degree oven for about 25 minutes, instead of boiling them. Make sure to puree the roasted garlic cloves with the rest of the soup. I used whole milk. The soup is better the next day after the flavors have intensified!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Outstanding! I used garlic powder, water (instead of chicken stock) and whole milk. I also had to use dried herbs but even so the flavour of this soup was fantastic, and it's texture... velvety! This tastes wonderful with warm garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Not bad, but a bit bland until I doctored it up. I used a lot more dill (probably twice what the recipee called for) and you must add salt and pepper to balance the flavors before serving. I also stirred in a couple tbsp. butter for richness. Garnished with toasted sliced almonds, it was company-worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I looked for this recipe after we enjoyed the Dill Carrot Soup at the Union Station Museum Restaurant in Ogden, Utah. I used baby carrots, and let my dried dill weed and fresh chives soak in the milk while the carrots, onion, and garlic simmered in the broth. We rate this even better than the restaurant's version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
We really enjoyed this recipe. We are soup lovers and always trying something new. I used PAM instead of the oil, due to our diet, and added some pepper and a little salt, not much, at the table. It is a keeper for us. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Great idea for a soup - I really like carrots with dill. It did need a little tweaking though, as I found it somewhat bland as well. I added salt, pepper, an extra tablespoon of dill, more onion, and used green onions instead of chives. Overall a very yummy soup, and coming in at only 80 calories per 1 cup serving! (I used skim milk) I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Perhaps it was my method, but I think I followed the recipe exactly... this tasted like baby food mixed with dill and milk. I couldn't serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
WoW - so, so good! Totally surprised! I couldn't stand to lose all those nutrients from the boiled carrots, so I made a standard soup base by sauteeing the onions and carrots for about 8 minutes, then added the garlic, then sauteed for another 3 or so and added the chicken stock. Boiled for about 15 minutes until carrots were quite tender. Pureed as indicated, and honestly at this point with a tad more liquid this is an awesome soup on it's own! I did add extra chicken stock vs milk, and then the herbs - fantastic! Thank you for sharing this surprisingly wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strattc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was great! Fresh dill and chives are a must. I used skim milk and a little cream since I didn't have 2% milk. We had it with turkey burgers, wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States