Carrot Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was a great way to use up some dill! Used vegetable bouillon instead of chicken stock, green onion instead of chives, and skim instead of 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Delicious! I altered this slightly. Instead of 3/4 cup milk, I used 1/2 cup milk and 1/4 cup half and half. I also added some kosher salt when I sauteed the onions and garlic. At the end, I used 1/2 teaspoon dried dill, as I did not have fresh and I added cayenne pepper to taste. I couldn't stop eating it! yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Quite a few reviews mentioned very bland, think because there is no mention of S&P in the recipe. I added salt to the water I boiled the carrots in. Put a little salt & pepper in the onion and garlic. Other then that followed the recipe (except had to use dried dill) and I thought the flavor was excellent. I will make again without chives. I love chives, but the texture was weird to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious! I mostly followed the recipe except I sauted the carrots, onions, and garlic together ...I don't know if it made any difference in the flavor over cooking the carrots in water first. I also used dried dill and chives and added some salt and pepper. This is certainly one soup I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
WoW - so, so good! Totally surprised! I couldn't stand to lose all those nutrients from the boiled carrots, so I made a standard soup base by sauteeing the onions and carrots for about 8 minutes, then added the garlic, then sauteed for another 3 or so and added the chicken stock. Boiled for about 15 minutes until carrots were quite tender. Pureed as indicated, and honestly at this point with a tad more liquid this is an awesome soup on it's own! I did add extra chicken stock vs milk, and then the herbs - fantastic! Thank you for sharing this surprisingly wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strattc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
very good soup! skipped on the chives and tripled the dill, also used home made chicken broth which gave it a great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Great soup! I left out the milk and added more broth. I also threw in a handful of quinoa during the simmer stage to give the soup "body." A big hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Delicous soup! I also added some cinnamon which added a nice twist! :) Highly reccomend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is really close to my recipe for carrot dill soup. I prefer mine without milk. It's great for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States