Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made this recipe for my boyfriend's birthday, his favourite cake is carrot cake. They turned out well, he loved them...I topped them with a few curls of shaved white chocolate for pizzaz! The only complaint I have is that the recipe for the icing makes a totally ridiculous amount of icing - a big waste of ingredients!! Next time I'd cut the icing recipe at least in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This recipe was fabulous!! I doubled the cupcake recipe and kept the frosting recipe as is and had just the right amount of frosting. I found that once the frosting was on the cupcakes the orange flavor was just right, not overpowering at all. I used 1 C. whole wheat flour to 2 C. all-purpose flour and substituted coconut for the walnuts. I kept everything else the same and got rave reviews and many requests for this recipe! I definitely recommend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefX39
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I once again made these cupcakes this time for a summer Sunday evening BBQ. Made with the frosting from Carrot Cake III. Once again received rave reviews and many comments that they are delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
These were exactly like my grandma's carrot cake she used to make. I changed it up a bit...1/2 apple sauce for 1/2 the oil, whole wheat flour, brown sugar for white. Super moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Two thumbs up! I cut the frosting recipe in half per the advice of another review, which is an excellent idea. On top of that, I modified to make a lower calorie frosting and cut the butter in half along with using milk instead of cream and the frosting was still excellent. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
The cupcakes turned out excellent! People at work were practically fighting over them. I will concur with the other reviewers who said this recipe makes WAY TOO MUCH frosting. I doubled the batch because it says it only makes 12 cupcakes, but I actually ended up with close to 50, which I thought I was generously frosting until I was done and there was still a full two cups of frosting left!!! And I didn't double the frosting recipe! I also didn't have any orange extract so I put a dot of lemon extract in and it gave the frosting a nice citrusy flavor without being overpowering. I put an entire 20 oz can of crushed pineapple (which I drained, but not very well) in the cake batter because I didn't feel like wasting it. I will make these again, but maybe not so many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janer110

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndonville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
These are SO good! Really decadent. (And I thought I "didn't like" carrot cake.) My daughter saw some beautiful carrot cupcakes w/cream cheese frosting at Trader Joe's and wanted to buy them; I told her we'd do better and make some instead! This recipe looked good, and it was. I have never made carrot cake before and was unsure of the pineapple, but it's great. I also thought the batter was really liquidy, but I guess it's supposed to be that way. I got 15 cupcakes out of this. I reduced the white sugar to 1 cup and it was plenty sweet. I also used 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour. I used 1% milk in the frosting, not cream, and it was fine. I made all of the frosting (used Neufchatel), and yes it is too much, but I was expecting that because I read the reviews. I'm going to use the rest to frost some chocolate cookies. The frosting is really good; I added an extra ounce of white chocolate. Next time I would only do 3 cups of sugar- it's pretty sweet as-is. You can really taste the orange too but I like that. This recipe is really good, and almost perfect (except for the sugar) so it gets 5 stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I only tried making the icing and it was the best tasting I've ever made. Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is an exceptional carrot cake cupcake recipe! The cupcakes are moist and full of flavor! I shreddded the carrots on the fine side of my shredder. As for the crushed pineapple, I wasn't sure if I should drain it or not -- I drained it and saved the juice and added about half of the reserved juice at the end when I saw the consistency. With that said, I think the recipe would be absolutely fine if the pineapple is drained or not. I did not use the frosting on this recipe -- I used Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Wonderful!The best! I also used the cream cheese frosting recipe from this site.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States