Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Delicious frosting! I can only imagine how yummy the cupcake would have been based on how good the frosting was. :) My black bottom cupcakes were in SERIOUS need of frosting to make them visually appealing (although delicious, they are UGLY!!!). I've had my eye on this recipe for some time, but because I already have a favorite go-to carrot cake recipe, I never tried this. This frosting was mildly sweet and a perfect complement to my rich, indulgent cupcakes! Other than omitting the orange extract (I was on the lookout for a vanilla-based cream cheese frosting and didn't feel the orange flavor would pair well with my cupcakes), I made no changes. I'm SO gald I found this recipe! BAKERAMA, this was sinfully decadent! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Just came out of the oven! Smells great and after cooling frosted and put walnut crumbs on top. HIGHLY suggest cutting frosting down in half, I applied the frosting generously and still had a little bit left over. I didn't have orange zest but my husband said the frosting is the best he's ever had ( and he loves carrot cake). Overall, very pleased :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great cupcakes. Adapted the recipe based on suggestions from other reviewer. When I made them, I used: > 2 3/4 cup shredded carrots > 1/4 cup oil, 1/4 cup applesauce > 2.5 tsp cinnamon > 1 tsp nutmeg > 1/8 tsp cloves > 3/4 cup all purpose flour, 3/4 cup whole wheat flour For the icing....I essentially cut the recipe in 1/2 but also tweaked the quantities of the chocolate, orange extract and confectioners sugar. Here is what I used: 2 ounces of white chocolate (left this as is even though I pretty much halved everything else) 4 oz cream cheese 1/4 cup unsalted butter 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract 1/8 tsp orange extract (used only a tiny bit to prevent overpowering) 1 cup of icing sugar (halved and then halved again as per other reviewers suggestions) 1 tbsp heavy cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
What is the purpose of Carrot Cake except to be a vehicle in which to eat cream cheese icing!! Yes, it was a lot of icing, but the more the better on top of those yummy cupcakes. I don't like white chocolate and I most definitely do not like orange flavorings in things, but this icing was to die for!! My husband requested cream cheese icing for his birthday, he didn't care what it was on top of, and these were a hit! I thought I might be throwing money away on that orange extract, but I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Great hit! Family Loved it. Although i Replaced the pineapples for raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Fantastic hit at my party. I left the chocolate out of the icing, the orange flavoring came through just enough to compliment the cupcake. Will definitely make again. They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made these for Easter Sunday and they were a big hit! I used Cream cheese frosting instead and added 2 Tbs. lemon grind. Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made these for Easter this year and everyone loved them! Very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I made it for Easter dessert and it was a huge hit! It does make a ton of icing, but I just froze it! In the future I would omit the orange extract, but that is just personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zz827
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I made this twice now and both time was a hit in my family and friends gathering. The first time I made it I drained the crushed pineapple and it turned out good. But the second time I made it I actually forgot to drain them and it turned out a lot better. More moist. For the frosting, I only used 2 cups confectioner sugar instead of 4 cups and it still turned out good. I think putting all 4 cups will be way too sweet. I also agree with some of the reviewers, the frosting is way too much for a dozen cupcakes. I was able to use it for 25 to 30 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zz827

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States