Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these pretty much as-is. The only thing changed was that I used about 1/4 tsp lemon extract because I didn't have orange, and I used pecans instead of walnuts. The best thing about these cupcakes is that they were very moist, even a few days later. I doubled the cupcake part of the recipe but left the icing alone because of other reviews I read. It is a ridiculous amount of icing, which is a serious flaw with this recipe. I would have wasted a lot of icing had I not read other reviews. The other problem is the amount of sugar. I did not put the full amount of white sugar in the recipe, and they still tasted too sweet, especially with the icing! I plan on making these again, but I will try a healthier version with applesauce instead of oil, less sugar, etc for myself...but my family really loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Delicious! My only complaint is that I couldn't taste the white chocolate or even the cream cheese in the frosting. I feel like there's too much sugar. Maybe next time I'll try cutting out a cup. The cupcakes themselves were delicious and moist! I used the smallest grate for the carrots, so it was time consuming to shred so much. I think I might try carrot baby food next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I would give this more stars if I could... yum, yum, yum!!! I too used orange juice instead of orange extract. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was the first time ever making carrot cake/cupcakes and they came out great. I shared with friends and they loved them too. I did use another cream cheese frosting recipe from this site but the cupcakes themselves were awsome. Will be making again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
These are very good. Did not have orange extract, so I used lemon. Still very yummy. I made six large cupcakes, so I had to cook them a little longer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
These cupcakes make an exceptional dessert I am proud to bring to any event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Zion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Everybody at work absolutely loved these cupcakes! They all thought I was a pro, but really I am not that experienced :). That goes to show how easy these are to make, and how good they turn out even if you are not very experienced! I cut the icing in half per other reviewers just so I would not have too much left over. The batter made about 16 cupcakes for me. I only changed two things: used half applesauce and half oil (I have seen that a lot in other recipes and thought I would try it, the cupcakes were really moist), and I forgot to buy baking soda, so I used baking powder, and doubled the amount written and omitted the salt (some website said this is the closest to getting to baking soda), and it still turned out just fine. I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sljones117

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Absolutley loved this recipe. I used Lemon extract instead of orange because I couldn't find any orange extract. Next time I make it I won't put any walnuts inside the cupcakes I found 1 cup walnuts was way to much. Other then that it was soo good and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
5 stars for the cake. I didn't try the icing, I used Cream Cheese II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I ABSOLUTELY love these cupcakes. they're moist and stay moist for a few days. I do agree with the others that the amount of icing is waaaay to much for the amount of cake made. I doubled the cake and kept the icing the same and I still could have made another batch of cake (doubled the recipe). The icing was simply delicious. I've searched long and hard to find a cream cheese recipe that was not too sweet and not too cheesy. This is definately it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetRevenge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States