Carrot Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This cookie, and any other, will always turn out better if you bake them on parchment paper-lined cookie sheets. Cardamon, vanilla extract and replacing half of the butter with Crisco shortening ups the flavor a notch or two and cuts back on the saturated fat content in this recipe. I also added 1 cup of golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is a deliciously different cake-type cookie! After reading other reviews, i used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup applesauce. Also 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda, 2 teaspoons each orange extract and vanilla....also 3/4 cup white raisins. Otherwise followed the recipe. Flattened slightly. When the cookies were cool I glazed with 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon grated orange rind, 1 teaspoon orange extract and enough orange juice to reached desired consistency. So good with a cup of coffee. I had to pack them up and put them away because they kept calling to me! They are a welcome change from chocolate chip cookies . This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Overall pretty good. Actually better than I was expecting but still not perfect. I used lemon instead of orange but they are still pretty bland. There is also a lot of butter and sugar in this recipe so its not the healthiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Mine were fat free because I used half fat-free plain yogurt, and half prune puree for the fat (you actually scale the prune puree to half of the fat replaced too). I used whole wheat flour, underfilled my sugar, used flax instead of egg, and added 2 tsp of cinnamon and a few shakes of both nutmeg and ginger. I didn't measure my carrots, but I definitely used more than directed, and they still turned out great! Also didn't have orange zest, so I used vanilla. Great, fluffy cookies. A little bland, but in my opinion, the point of carrot cookies isn't to have an insulin explosion:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
The orange and carrot blend is different, and very tasty. I made it exactly as specified, no changes, and the whole family was pleased. This is a keeper; a good way to use all those CSA carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I made these cookies with the pulp leftover from juicing some carrots. I made them as an experiment to see if my kids would eat a cookie with a veggie in it. Of course, I didn't tell them what the orange piecies were till they tried it. They LOVED them, and I had to make more the next day. Even my 14yr old niece wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I had huge problems with this recipe. My first cookie-sheet full flattened out like pancakes. So I added a bunch more flour and tried again. Apparently I got too much flour cause they didn't flatten out as much as a cookie ought to, and they burned. At that point I cut my losses and ate the dough. All of it was very tasty. I live close to sea level... maybe this recipe is more suited for mountain dwellers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This recipe was a nice use for leftover carrots... The cookies were good on the first day, but they were not as good on day 2. Definitely make them the day you plan to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
These were a very good cookie! My 17 month old and 6 year old loved them! They are the perfect sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very good! To make this recipe even better and a little bit on the healthier side, I substituted 1/2 cup of the butter for applesauce, I used whole wheat flour, cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and increased the amount of cinnamon to about 2 to 3 tsp. I didn't put in any orange zest because I didn't have any, but I definitely will next time, even though they were great without it! All-in-all...a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States