Carrot Coconut Lime Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by fiji chefmom
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
The ease of preparation for this soup made it better yet! The blend of flavors that tingled the tastebuds was a delight. The taste was very exotic. I would add another teaspoon of cumin for more zip. But overall, a very good and different twist to a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Excellent soup - great blend of flavours. I used light coconut milk and cut down on the amount used by half to make it lower in fat. I also increased the amount of ginger considerably. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
We really enjoyed this soup. I had to sub in chicken boullion for the vegetable broth due to forgetfulness at the store, but I just eliminated any salt from the seasoning. I would recommend the low fat coconut milk too even though the richness suffers just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Served this chilled and then heated the leftovers - both ways are tasty. I took the advise of other reviewers - I didn't change the amount of coconut milk, but used equal amounts of "light" coconut milk and regular coconut milk. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Big disappointment! I followed the recipe exactly thinking it would be a delicious, flavorful soup. It was expensive- 7 cups of coconut milk is a lot at $2 a can! Fresh cilantro, broth-it easily cost me $15 to make. The taste is bland and boring and not at all tangy like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
If done right this soup is SUPER YUMMY! First, I made my own veggie broth with chopped up carrots, celery and onion. I added an all natural chicken base to it but you could just add some salt too. I also used Thai Kitchen brand red curry paste. I was assuming this is something like what the recipe called for. Last but not least I doubled the fresh ginger. Used a stick blender to blend so I didn't have to pour it into a belnder. AMAZING!!!! Just a note...most brands of "lite" coconut milk is just watered down coconut milk. If you want "lite" just use a little less of the coconut milk and add water. Save money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Desperately needed some salt & pepper, but once they were added, the soup was quite good. Nice texture and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Now this is some good soup! I do agree that it needs some salt and pepper, and I cut back on the ginger a bit since 1t a bit much for my taste. I also use canned coconut cream which is way richer than coconut milk - a little goes a long way. Like all soups I make, I find that they are much better if you make them a day ahead. Thanks, sourpony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Yum! Easy to make, and to cater to specific tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States