Carrot Chile and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I've had this soup 3 times in the last month. I love it. One small thing I did that brings out the flavors even more was adding lemon juice to taste. My only complaint was I could not find Chili Paste. I had to substitute something that (I hope) is similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I love this soup, and now get free carrots from my friends garden if I give him some of this soup in return. I did ,however, put in less chile paste than called for, otherwise it's too hot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This is delicious! Of course I added more garlic, cilantro and chile paste than called for - I love a lot of flavor. I added a dollop of non-fat sour cream on top and it was the perfect compliment to the sweet/spicy flavor of the soup. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I served this at a mexican feast that I made for a friends birthday. Everyone loved it, especially the men. They asked me to give their wives the recipe. I used a little chili powder and some very hot sauce instead of the chili paste. Worked great. this will be a staple in our house from now on. bye bye tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This is fantastic! I use some extra cilantro b/c I love it, but is just fine as is. Nice and light, great first course for a heavier mexican feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
This is an excellent soup! I don't blend it at all and I triple the amount of cilantro. I've made this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
Delicious!!! I did not have chili paste and used chili powder instead. Instead of a peeled potato, I used the flaky stuff from the box (lazy!) after blending which worked great in thickening the soup. I love cilantro, so I used way more than the recipe called for. I added half of the chopped cilantro after the mixture was blended which preserves its taste better. At the very end, I added a little lemon juice which made even more perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Can you spell YUM?!!?! Easy and simple recipe. I bought 10 lbs. of carrots accidentally and didn't want any to go to waste. Carrot soup was the perfect answer. Low-fat, low-cal, tastes great and FILLING! I added 4 whole cloves of garlic, didn't peel anything (except the onions) and boiled it all together. Pureed the mixture, added 2 Tbls. cilantro, extra chili powder and juice from a whole lime. If you don't have chili paste, use chili powder, salt and vinegar (base ingredients to chili paste). This soup defined comfort food!! I will definently make it again! This would be a great starter for a Thanksgiving feast. Oh!! I also added 2 extra carrots! ;0) Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICDIVA1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
MMMMMMMMM!!! Ten out of ten... for Ease, Speed, Flexibility, Comfort, Satisfaction and Great Taste. chunky or not, thicker or thinner, veg broth or chicken, lots of lemon juice or less, sour cream or no, tortilla chips on bottom of the bowl or not, tons of cilantro or a bit, opening course of a lovely mexican meal or a light comforting lunch/dinner. YEP.. A total keeper and a staple on our menus from now on. TY Very M for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This soup is fantastic, it will be made often in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States