Carrot Chile and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by kaspmary
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Bland as is. Double the amount of chili paste, garlic, and cilantro. Stir in more fresh cilantro, the juice of one lime, and a good amount of kosher salt at the end... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaspmary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Left out the cilantro since I can't stand it, but otherwise was Very good. I doubled the veggies but left the stock the same. Used chicken stock since that's what I had around. Overdid it on the siracha (chili paste was hiding) but will make again. Added a dollop of greek yogurt on top to cool it off with a squeeze of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is an excellent soup and very easy to make. I thin next time I will add more cilantro than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
What a surprise - excellent! Very creamy, yet healthy soup. Added lime juice at the end as suggested by ohter reviewers, came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My husband and I loved this recipe. Since I love cilantro, I added 1/2 cup fresh cilantro instead of 1 tbs, 2 tsp chile paste instead of 1, added 1/2 of a red bell pepper (diced), 1 tbs ginger paste, 2 tbs cream cheese, 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes, and 1 tsp lime juice. I also used a fine grater to grate the carrots and potatoes (I used 2 russets instead of a large one) before I started cooking so that I wouldn't have to blend afterwords and the consistency was delightful. The soup was full-bodied and was a full meal in itself. I served it with some fresh french bread on the side. I will DEFINITELY be making this soup again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was easy and delicious. The flavors were subtle. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable, b/c I didn't have any veggie. When mentioning this recipe, everyone was like "ugh! carrot soup", but this had even my kids loving it! Definitely will make this many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Had a lot of carrots and this worked out really good, nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great soup, quick and simple to make but tasted delicious. Did use a little more cilantro than the recipe. I just know I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Great soup, I went a little heavier on the cilantro! Can't wait to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made this soup with a bit of pessimissum. But it got really good reviews, and basically I had the ingredients, so why not? I did change a few things (which I always do): used a can of green enchilada sauce instead of the red, used Knorr's Veg Boullion for the broth, mashed 3 cloves of garlic and 1 bunch of cilantro in a pestal and sauted in a little olive oil at the start. Used some hot sauce instead of the chili paste. Used about 2/3 and left the balance as is. Then added a 1/2 cup of pearl barley (wanted it thicker) and cooked for another 20+ minutes until done. Served with sour cream and chopped cilantro. Excellent! And vegetarian and healthy - better yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States