Carrot Chile and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Can you spell YUM?!!?! Easy and simple recipe. I bought 10 lbs. of carrots accidentally and didn't want any to go to waste. Carrot soup was the perfect answer. Low-fat, low-cal, tastes great and FILLING! I added 4 whole cloves of garlic, didn't peel anything (except the onions) and boiled it all together. Pureed the mixture, added 2 Tbls. cilantro, extra chili powder and juice from a whole lime. If you don't have chili paste, use chili powder, salt and vinegar (base ingredients to chili paste). This soup defined comfort food!! I will definently make it again! This would be a great starter for a Thanksgiving feast. Oh!! I also added 2 extra carrots! ;0) Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICDIVA1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I've had this soup 3 times in the last month. I love it. One small thing I did that brings out the flavors even more was adding lemon juice to taste. My only complaint was I could not find Chili Paste. I had to substitute something that (I hope) is similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Delicious... Can also substitute crushed red pepper for chile paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
MMMMMMMMM!!! Ten out of ten... for Ease, Speed, Flexibility, Comfort, Satisfaction and Great Taste. chunky or not, thicker or thinner, veg broth or chicken, lots of lemon juice or less, sour cream or no, tortilla chips on bottom of the bowl or not, tons of cilantro or a bit, opening course of a lovely mexican meal or a light comforting lunch/dinner. YEP.. A total keeper and a staple on our menus from now on. TY Very M for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I served this at a mexican feast that I made for a friends birthday. Everyone loved it, especially the men. They asked me to give their wives the recipe. I used a little chili powder and some very hot sauce instead of the chili paste. Worked great. this will be a staple in our house from now on. bye bye tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Very good! I used a lot more cilantro than stated, and also a tiny splash of lime juice. The chile paste I used was incredibly hot, so I sloshed in some half-and-half. Thanks, Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I forgot to add chili at first but the soup tasted so much better with it. Also, it's better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This is delicious! Of course I added more garlic, cilantro and chile paste than called for - I love a lot of flavor. I added a dollop of non-fat sour cream on top and it was the perfect compliment to the sweet/spicy flavor of the soup. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I should have made this as written! I substituted beef broth because that's what I had, and to me it tasted a little like leftover broth when you make a pot roast. However, husband loves pot roast and he loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I didn't have any cilantro so I added about a tsp of cumin plus a few dashes of season salt, black pepper, and 1 dash of nutmeg. I used chile flakes instead of paste as other reviewers commented on it being too hot. I added a few Tbl flour to the onion/oil mix (I also added a touch of bacon grease here) to make a rue to thicken the soup. Turned out great! Great way to add a veggie side dish to a mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States