Carrot Chile and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
this was very easy make and tasted pretty good. I more than doubled the garlic and used more cilantro for garnishing. I didn't know what chili paste is so I used Sriracha. Again, it was very good but I probaby won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arthistorybabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I have been waiting a long time to review this recipe. I have made it 3 times without the chili paste. I could not find it anywhere and then my DD gave me a bottle for Xmas that she finally found at Whole Foods. When I made the first time I used chili powder mixed in with the cilantro and garlic. We loved the flavor! But I thought that the chili paste was the secret ingredient so was anxious to try as written. Actually I love it with the chili powder and red pepper flakes as it has more of a kick. I do not blend mine in the blender but just mash the ingredients with my potato masher to make a small chunky soup. I had printed this recipe out 2 yrs ago and just made for the first time about 3 months ago. Great, "makes U feel good" recipe. Like chicken soup, says MOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I should have made this as written! I substituted beef broth because that's what I had, and to me it tasted a little like leftover broth when you make a pot roast. However, husband loves pot roast and he loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I make this soup all the time, especially when I have a lot of carrots. However, I LOVE cilantro and think the taste is wasted when you use it at the beginning of the recipe. I use 1 tbsp of dried cilantro instead, and then add the fresh cilantro at the end before I blend. Then you can actually taste it! I also like to add a bit of milk at the end to make it a bit more creamy. Regardless, this soup is a staple recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickremedy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Found this to be a tasty soup and thought it even tasted better the day after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was a very nice soup. Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I love this soup, especially with a dash of lime and red wine vinegar, with more cilantro added at the end and a dollop of fat free sour cream. One of my staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Great flavor with these variations: Used chicken broth in place of veggie broth, Used crushed red chili pepper in place of chili paste, Added the juice of two limes and some grated fresh ginger, and Used 3 cloves of garlic instead of 1. Bon appetit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Soooo good - everyone in the family loved it, including the meat-loving, anti-vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Not bad! Doubled and used bouillon instead of broth; also added more chile paste and cilantro as garnish. Would use less water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States