Carrot Chile and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Loved it. I had never thought about using carrots as the main ingredient in a soup. I was out for lunch with a friend and carrot soup was on the menu. It was so good I had to find the recipe. This is it!! Delicious, and I have taken to the taste of cilantro and it goes great with this carrot soup...use a little or a lot. For those who don't like cilantro I see there is a ginger-carrot version I'm going to try next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I didn't use chili paste instead when I put the carrots and sweet potato in with the oil I diced a tomato and had it all simmer in the oil with cayenne pepper, crushed red pepper, cilantro, and a jalapeño. The rest of the recipe I followed I am surprised by how low calorie it is for such a filling soup! I'm a vegetarian and I'm so happy to find another filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Really good I made this already twice this week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Love this recipe! Added a lot more carrots (about 7 total), lots more cilantro, chili powder and hot sauce as others suggested (I like a lot of flavor), 3 gloves of garlic, same amount of potato. Blended it in the blender after it softened a bit. Delicious!! Will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is now a staple soup in my family. I do a few things differently, partly because of what's on hand and partly because of preference. I use coconut oil instead of Olive oil, Chili sauce with garlic that you can find in the Asian section of major super markets, and fresh grated ginger---YUM!!! I only blend half of it to enjoy the texture of the carrots and potatoes. WE LOVE THIS SOUP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
REALLY delicious. Like the others, I added a lime, and substituted chili powder and red pepper flakes for the chili paste. I also pureed in batches in my blender. Came out nice and smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was very good. I enjoyed the background heat of the chili paste. I used chicken broth and I also blended the finished soup in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I love this soup. I make it all the time, but I use 3 potatoes in order to make it a bit thicker once blended and I prefer chicken broth. It's very simple, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this because I received way too many carrots in my produce delivery this week. I actually used the pale yellow carrots and the mildness of them plus the spice and cilantro made for a delicious soup. I added lots of siracha to make it nice and spicy. Hoping it will chase away the remnants of my head cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States