Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I had some carrots to use up, and had all the other ingredients on hand, so I gave this a try. I made it exactly as written. I guess I cooked the carrots long enough, but I'd never pureed carrots before. I found that you have to run the blender for a while - my results still had a few chunks in them. When baking, the casserole was still pretty liquid in the middle, even at 30 minutes. So I wound up baking it for 36 minutes total, and it looked somewhat "set". I then let it sit out and cool a bit for 5-10 minutes, and the consistency was thickened nicely by that point. This was a pretty good dish. I can take or leave carrots, and I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes or pumpkin pie, which I think this dish resembles, but I was willing to try it. I thought it was maybe a little too sweet, though, so maybe 2/3 or even 1/2 cup of sugar would suffice next time. I think this dish would really shine when paired with an appropriate main dish (maybe ham would be a good choice?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe was the BEST! Even my picky toddler ate this! I didn't change a thing.. I and everyone else loved it... will be making again.. Thanks for a great recipe Paula!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
No one ate this. We tried and wanted to like it as we do like the idea about finding ways for kids to increase veggie intake. I don't know what it was, it just was pleasing to our family. The combination just didn't work well. We did cut the sugar down and increase cooking time as suggested. I guess there are many different palates out there - this one just didn't engage ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Not bad at all! My 2.5 yr old daughters LOVED it. I didn't think they'd stop eating! I did make some BIG changes, specifically the sugar - 1 cup would be WAAAAY too much, I did 1/2 and it was still far too sweet. I changed the butter, did about 3/4 tbls of "Earth Balance" buttery stick. And lastly, I used egg whites, and it worked just fine, maybe it wasn't as thick as it could have been, but it went from something that would have been a dessert to a great side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
THIS WAS GOOD BUT I THINK THE SPICES OVERPOWER THE CARROT FLAVOR. NEXT TIME I WILL CUT BACK ON THE AMOUNTS OF THE SPICES. MY 12 YR OLD LOVED IT AS IS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This was just okay. It definitely needed to cook longer than 25-30 minutes, I'd say 45-50 minutes would be more accurate. Plus, the consistency was a little weird, and I blended up those carrots very well. It was kind of chunky and watery at the same time. The flavor, however, was excellent. Maybe a little too much nutmeg, but otherwise it was very tasty. I might not make it again, or it might be better as a pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I wish I had read reviews first so I could have known it would take twice as long to bake than stated. It worked out though because the dish was more like a desert and appropriate for after dinner. It should be called carrot pudding. I think I'll also reduce the sugar next time around. Highly recommended with the changes of less sugar and maybe less spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mysherryjo
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Perfect for the holidays. I used only 1/2 the nutmeg and 1/2 the sugar. Still tasted like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Delicious! I love this recipe. So flavorful! Really tastes just like pumpkin pie. So easy to make too! I omitted the nutmeg and used extra cinnamon, and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
it was ok, not as I expceted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States