Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I had some carrots to use up, and had all the other ingredients on hand, so I gave this a try. I made it exactly as written. I guess I cooked the carrots long enough, but I'd never pureed carrots before. I found that you have to run the blender for a while - my results still had a few chunks in them. When baking, the casserole was still pretty liquid in the middle, even at 30 minutes. So I wound up baking it for 36 minutes total, and it looked somewhat "set". I then let it sit out and cool a bit for 5-10 minutes, and the consistency was thickened nicely by that point. This was a pretty good dish. I can take or leave carrots, and I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes or pumpkin pie, which I think this dish resembles, but I was willing to try it. I thought it was maybe a little too sweet, though, so maybe 2/3 or even 1/2 cup of sugar would suffice next time. I think this dish would really shine when paired with an appropriate main dish (maybe ham would be a good choice?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe was the BEST! Even my picky toddler ate this! I didn't change a thing.. I and everyone else loved it... will be making again.. Thanks for a great recipe Paula!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
No one ate this. We tried and wanted to like it as we do like the idea about finding ways for kids to increase veggie intake. I don't know what it was, it just was pleasing to our family. The combination just didn't work well. We did cut the sugar down and increase cooking time as suggested. I guess there are many different palates out there - this one just didn't engage ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Not bad at all! My 2.5 yr old daughters LOVED it. I didn't think they'd stop eating! I did make some BIG changes, specifically the sugar - 1 cup would be WAAAAY too much, I did 1/2 and it was still far too sweet. I changed the butter, did about 3/4 tbls of "Earth Balance" buttery stick. And lastly, I used egg whites, and it worked just fine, maybe it wasn't as thick as it could have been, but it went from something that would have been a dessert to a great side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
THIS WAS GOOD BUT I THINK THE SPICES OVERPOWER THE CARROT FLAVOR. NEXT TIME I WILL CUT BACK ON THE AMOUNTS OF THE SPICES. MY 12 YR OLD LOVED IT AS IS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This was just okay. It definitely needed to cook longer than 25-30 minutes, I'd say 45-50 minutes would be more accurate. Plus, the consistency was a little weird, and I blended up those carrots very well. It was kind of chunky and watery at the same time. The flavor, however, was excellent. Maybe a little too much nutmeg, but otherwise it was very tasty. I might not make it again, or it might be better as a pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I wish I had read reviews first so I could have known it would take twice as long to bake than stated. It worked out though because the dish was more like a desert and appropriate for after dinner. It should be called carrot pudding. I think I'll also reduce the sugar next time around. Highly recommended with the changes of less sugar and maybe less spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mysherryjo
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Perfect for the holidays. I used only 1/2 the nutmeg and 1/2 the sugar. Still tasted like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Delicious! I love this recipe. So flavorful! Really tastes just like pumpkin pie. So easy to make too! I omitted the nutmeg and used extra cinnamon, and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
it was ok, not as I expceted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States