Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by vermilya
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I added butternut squash from Costco. This is my result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Yes, it was very good hubby said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My husband thought these were simply delicious. My changes: didn't add a bread topping and I stirred in some dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Had a bunch of carrots in the fridge that needed eating. I wanted a savory not a sweet side dish so I gave this a try. I gave this a 3 because of all the subs that I made. I did make a few substitutions, I used shredded colby/ cheddar rather than processed cheese, cream of mushroom and the crushed ritz because that is what I had. I cut the amount of butter because it as already in the crackers, so I left out 1/3 cup of that. It was still plenty rich without it. Until I added some more spices, this was a fairly bland dish. I added dill weed and grated ginger to the sauteeing onion then carrot mixture. I added 1/2 teaspoon, but If I made this again, I would add much more. Also, I think I would make sure to have the crutons instead of the crackers.. but I would make my own using stale olive loaf... I also would make this a mixture of carrots and zucchinis and toss in some fresh parsley or fresh dill weed. This could use some "green fresh" flavor" Overall this is a basic Americana recipe that is a little too reliant on the canned soup base for my tastes. I should have been warned by the processed cheese in the initial recipe, but I thought that might just be for the smooth meltiness, but I now think it is more of an intrinsic part of the flavor aesthetic. I like the use of a cream base in sauteed onions then layering the blanched sliced veggies in the baking dish as the basis for a cassarole. The rest of the this particular recipe I will not use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
good option, decrease croutons or just add a few bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was very tasty and my young kids enjoyed it. I will be making this again, and adding some pasta next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I hate cooked carrots as a rule and never make them. I went back for seconds and thirds on this one. This one is a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Made this for Sunday dinner with the family. It was terriffic! I was nervous about he combination of cheese with the cream of celery sop, but it turned out great. I ran out of time making this so I did improvise a little by omitting the sautéed onion step. I used onion powder instead. After straining the carrots, I returned them to the pot I boiled them in & then mixed the soup and cheese in the pot. Super easy and didn't dirty any additional dishes. Also, I didn't add any additional salt and it didn't need it. Thanks Jane, for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I made this for Easter and it was a big hit. Now it is only 5 days later and I am making it again! I have been craving it all week because it was so good. Thank you for what is sure to become a staple at all family dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Reigle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Yeap..caserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States