Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Yes, it was very good hubby said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My husband thought these were simply delicious. My changes: didn't add a bread topping and I stirred in some dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Had a bunch of carrots in the fridge that needed eating. I wanted a savory not a sweet side dish so I gave this a try. I gave this a 3 because of all the subs that I made. I did make a few substitutions, I used shredded colby/ cheddar rather than processed cheese, cream of mushroom and the crushed ritz because that is what I had. I cut the amount of butter because it as already in the crackers, so I left out 1/3 cup of that. It was still plenty rich without it. Until I added some more spices, this was a fairly bland dish. I added dill weed and grated ginger to the sauteeing onion then carrot mixture. I added 1/2 teaspoon, but If I made this again, I would add much more. Also, I think I would make sure to have the crutons instead of the crackers.. but I would make my own using stale olive loaf... I also would make this a mixture of carrots and zucchinis and toss in some fresh parsley or fresh dill weed. This could use some "green fresh" flavor" Overall this is a basic Americana recipe that is a little too reliant on the canned soup base for my tastes. I should have been warned by the processed cheese in the initial recipe, but I thought that might just be for the smooth meltiness, but I now think it is more of an intrinsic part of the flavor aesthetic. I like the use of a cream base in sauteed onions then layering the blanched sliced veggies in the baking dish as the basis for a cassarole. The rest of the this particular recipe I will not use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
good option, decrease croutons or just add a few bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was very tasty and my young kids enjoyed it. I will be making this again, and adding some pasta next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I hate cooked carrots as a rule and never make them. I went back for seconds and thirds on this one. This one is a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Made this for Sunday dinner with the family. It was terriffic! I was nervous about he combination of cheese with the cream of celery sop, but it turned out great. I ran out of time making this so I did improvise a little by omitting the sautéed onion step. I used onion powder instead. After straining the carrots, I returned them to the pot I boiled them in & then mixed the soup and cheese in the pot. Super easy and didn't dirty any additional dishes. Also, I didn't add any additional salt and it didn't need it. Thanks Jane, for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I made this for Easter and it was a big hit. Now it is only 5 days later and I am making it again! I have been craving it all week because it was so good. Thank you for what is sure to become a staple at all family dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Reigle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Yeap..caserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is so different. I was looking for something out of the norm and this was perfect! I made this to the letter and I don't believe it could have been any yummier!!! Everyone that ate it had seconds and thirds! This will be my new Pot luck dish to bring to our families Thanksgiving get together! They will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States