Carrot Cashew Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I didn't really like this, neither did the kids. Hubbs did, hence the 2 stars. It was way too sweet, felt like more of a dessert. I was interested in the carrot/cashew combo, but this didn't work for me. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I did tweak this one. I took everyone's advice... Cut back on the butter, only 1/4 Honey, cut up the nuts & carrots more so they didn't sink to the bottom & I tossed in a dash of garlic powder & chopped a small 1/4 onion -Onion in the carrot mixture & garlic went in the egg... This is great! It was a hit & fun to hear my son tell me how he was so surprised that it wasn't awful like most other quiche recipes! lol (He normally doesn't care for Quiche!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara K. Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Huge success at our Mother's Day brunch. My picky mom and meat-loving hubby and step-dad took second helpings. Like other reviewers, I was bummed about the carrots and cashews settling on the bottom but clearly, it didn't bother my guests! Also, I only put in 1/3 c honey, which was perfect for me. I will make this again and recommend it to my vegetarian sister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
The taste was incredible and everyone loved it. However, there is more than enough saturated fat in this! Cut the butter to 3 Tbs (seriously) and use half and half instead of cream and this will actually be better (it is too fat as written, it's awfully heavy). This could even be reduced further and still have the great flavor. This is going to be a new staple meal and I can't wait to serve it at church functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Still not sure on this one. A little too sweet for my liking even with the following changes: 1/4 C. butter, shredded carrots, chopped cashews, 2 Oz. honey, 1 C. heavy cream & 1/2 C. milk. It was good; it's just that I prefer a more savory flavored quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
a little too much honey and cream for me. one of my guests commented that it was like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I was intrigued by this flavor combination. Basically, I like it a lot, but it was just too heavy the first time I made it. So I reduced the amount of butter rather drastically to a mere tablespoon -- just enough to saute the carrots and nuts without sticking. I also reduced the honey to just 2 tablespoons and replaced the cream with half-and-half. I took the advice of other reviewers and chopped both the carrots and nuts in a food processor, but I don't think I'll do that again. Just as the flavors in a stew are more distinct when the veggies are in larger chunks, so the nuts need to be more distinct and less all-pervasive. But I'll definitely look forward to making it again in the future, probably when I'm serving savory quiches at the same meal for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This recipe is a hit, even with the non-quiche eaters. I'm delighted to call it a dessert quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Fantastic recipe but I decreased butter to 1 tablespoon; crushed the cashews; decreased honey to 1/4 cup and changed heavy cream to milk and only used 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I agree with the other reviewers that there is too much honey - I only added 2Tbl and it was still too sweet. Otherwise, both my 2-year old and I ate it up! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States