Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jendeppner
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
It was a good recipe. I added pineapple which was super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
The cake recipe itself is basically the same as Paula Deen's recipe except she uses pecans and this one used walnuts. I did not use the frosting recipe here, stuck with the one from Paula Deen. Added raisins, cut the oil to 1 cup and subbed 1/2 cup applesauce for the rest of the oil to reduce fat and since I had 4 cups of shredded carrots, went with it. Turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Delicious. I followed the reviews & added baking powder (2 tsp.). Made it for my daughter's birthday & it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Excellent, moist delicious cake. I added extra walnuts on top of the cake. Next time, I am going to cut the oil in half and use unsweetened applesauce to make it a bit healthiear. I made mine in a 13x9 pan and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Unfortunately, I chose this recipe without reading the reviews because I was in a hurry! Too much oil, I should have reduced it. It cooked 10 min past the recommended time and still wasn't completely done. Not too pleased with the frosting either. Had to add more sugar to have any consistency and still not firm enough, Next time I'll try one of the other recipes! Brenda 08/11/2013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
WOW! I just made this cake and can't stop eating it! I did make a couple of alterations, as per other reviewers, but I'm sure it would still be a 5 star even if I'd followed the recipe as written. This is what I did... substituted 1/2 the oil for applesauce, added 2 tsp baking powder, added couple rasps of nutmeg, added mashed ripe banana, added chocolate chips and raisins as I didn't have walnuts, no icing as I was just too lazy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amjoy373

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used it to make muffins. I substituted the sugar with Splenda blend for health reasons. I baked at the same temperature for 25 minutes and they came out perfect. I used a pampered chef muffin pan and got my 24 servings from this recipe. I enjoyed without the frosting. I read the reviews before baking and decided to give it a shot. Soooo not disappointed. Thank you for the recipe.. Kashmir
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Amazing! I made it for a bridal shower, and one girl told me she doesn't like carrot cake and that she got a slice to be polite. Planned to only have one bite....ended up eating the whole thing and raved about how good it was. People at the shower wanted the recipe. So good. I used a different icing recipe, but the cake itself was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made some changes to this. Added 1 tsp vanilla; 1/2 c sour cream and only 1 c oil. It came out really good. Nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Nice, moist cake. Bakes up nicely. Only added nutmeg simply because I like nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraht1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States