Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
it was moist and had a slight amount of crunchy texture, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I do not like carrot cake: I just do not like vegetables in my desert. I made this for my husband's birthday, because it is his second favourite cake (the first being prune cake). And he loved it, his family loved it, and even I liked it a lot. The cake is moist and has nice flavour. I did the frosting as suggested in this recipe, because I preferred to use cream rather than butter. I used almost 1/2 cup heavy cream and one 8oz package of cream cheese. It gave me just enough frosting for a two-tier 9in cake. An excellent recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Doubled cinnamon, did not add nutmeg. Baked two rounds. Used a whipped cream cheese frosting from allrecipies. It was amazing. Lasted one week in the fridge without drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I followed the suggestions below the recipe and came up with a fabulous carrot cake. less oil,baking powder, and baking soda, and lots more spices. Ginger,nutmeg, allspice, and ground cloves, added so much to the flavor. The original recipe was a nice base, and thanks so much for the helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheeksv
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this cake for my mothers 65th birthday/ Easter dinner. It turned out moist and delicious. I used cream cheese frosting II because so many people suggested it. Very good! I also love this recipe because you can add almost anything. I added ripe apples and figs along with the carrots. I also added nutmeg. Follow the suggestions they helped a lot but otherwise this cake was easy and sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheeksv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Too much oil!!!!!!! Very oily and not alot of flavor. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I was surprised, that with all the seemingly positive reviews, I had to change so much of the recipe in order to get a decent cake... What I ended up with was a five-star cake, but as there were so many changes I had to make, I could not call this a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very good cake although I changed some things: Used whole grain flour (to feel less guilty), 2 teaspoons of baking soda instead of one, no vegetable oil (disgusting), 1 cup of butter and 1 teaspoon nutmeg. It came out DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This cake was perfect! Very moist and simple. I don't really like pineapple and coconut in my carrot cake - just carrots! I baked it in a 9 x 13" pan at 340 degrees for about 1 hour 15 minutes. Poured it in the pan, sprinkled 1/2 cup walnuts over 1/2 of the cake and mixed them in a bit (most of my family does not like nuts). Perfect! (I did use the Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site like another person suggested. Very good!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States