Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is an excellent carrot cake! Dense, moist, and flavorful. Hubby raved about it 'til the end. I reduced the oil by 1/2 a cup, added 1/2 cup of natural applesauce, and omitted the walnuts, as neither of us like them. I used my Ninja to make the carrot really small (personal preference) instead of just grating. I opted to cook in a 9x13 pan at 340 for an hour. Next time I might add more cinnamon, but that's mostly because I like cinnamon and also to play with recipes, lol. The frosting is another story. I made the recipe version and quickly realized I'd just made a yummy glaze (probably great on a bundt/tube cake), but not a frosting, so I started over with the Cream Cheese II Frosting (minus 1 cup sugar), which was much better, especially when storing the whole thing in the 'fridge, which is how we like carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Delicious! I made these cupcakes for my Mum's birthday and they were a huge hit. The only thing I added was a dash of nutmeg to the batter & then topped the cupcake with cream cheese frosting. YUM! I'm sure I'll make this again... and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Love this recipe. I use 1 t baking powder in addition to the baking soda, 1 cup of plain applesauce and NO OIL are my only changes. My grandchildren LOVE it. We baked one on Saturday and my granddaughter was shocked that there were actual real carrots in the cake. She thought it was just the name of the cake. :-) I make my frosting by combing 1 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1 heaping teaspoon of vanilla and just a little over 2 cups of SIFTED confectioners sugar. Baked at 325 in dark cake pans for 35 minutes and it was perfect (gas oven). I always sprinkle chopped walnuts on top just to make it a little prettier. Try this cake, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I made this cake as a surprise for my mother, and she loved it, as did everyone else in my family! I did not have any heavy whipping cream on hand, so instead I used regular creamer. It seemed to work just as well! I have a nut allergy, so I also left out the walnuts, and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Unbelieveable recipe! It turned out sooo good! Kids loved it and i have had a piece every night! :) Very easy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
GREAT! Moist and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This cake was delicious! I made it for my husband for father's day and he loved it! We also had other family and friends over and they loved it too! I too decreased the amount of oil to just 1 cup and only baked it for 30 minutes in two 9 inch pans. I also used the frosting from the cream cheese frosting II recipe and that was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
it was moist and had a slight amount of crunchy texture, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I do not like carrot cake: I just do not like vegetables in my desert. I made this for my husband's birthday, because it is his second favourite cake (the first being prune cake). And he loved it, his family loved it, and even I liked it a lot. The cake is moist and has nice flavour. I did the frosting as suggested in this recipe, because I preferred to use cream rather than butter. I used almost 1/2 cup heavy cream and one 8oz package of cream cheese. It gave me just enough frosting for a two-tier 9in cake. An excellent recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Doubled cinnamon, did not add nutmeg. Baked two rounds. Used a whipped cream cheese frosting from allrecipies. It was amazing. Lasted one week in the fridge without drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States