Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I would give this 10 stars if I could! It was a huge hit! In order to make it more carrot-y, I add about a cup more carrots and it really helped in making it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I made this almost as written. I did exchange 1/2 the oil with applesauce, (Had to use regular as out of unsweetened, made no difference.) This was amazingly good. I made the frosting with half and half instead of the heavy whipping cream and it was fabulous too. It seemed to make a lot more than the cake really needed, but was oh so good to catch the drips. The only thing different I'll do is add an additional cup of carrots because we really like a lot of carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This cake was pretty tasty overall but I would definitely not cook it the 1 hr 20 minutes - I might say shorten it a bit. I've also read some other reviews and noticed some nice suggestions to better improve the recipe. I also probably would not put 1 cup of chopped walnuts but maybe 3/4 cup but that's my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I wanted to surprise my friend with her favorite cake and boy did I do just that! It was a great recipe, but I followed the advice of a couple other chefs here and cut the oil to 1 cup and added 1 tsp of baking powder. Since I like my cake with a little spice, I added an extra tsp of cinnamon and a dash of allspice. I also went with the Cream Cheese Frosting II, but I cut that recipe down significantly since our family doesn't like a lot of frosting; it ended up being light like cinnamon rolls and it was just the right amount. We also used whole wheat flour and organic sugar cane with the cake, and it turned out with just the right texture. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Keppler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is an excellent carrot cake! Dense, moist, and flavorful. Hubby raved about it 'til the end. I reduced the oil by 1/2 a cup, added 1/2 cup of natural applesauce, and omitted the walnuts, as neither of us like them. I used my Ninja to make the carrot really small (personal preference) instead of just grating. I opted to cook in a 9x13 pan at 340 for an hour. Next time I might add more cinnamon, but that's mostly because I like cinnamon and also to play with recipes, lol. The frosting is another story. I made the recipe version and quickly realized I'd just made a yummy glaze (probably great on a bundt/tube cake), but not a frosting, so I started over with the Cream Cheese II Frosting (minus 1 cup sugar), which was much better, especially when storing the whole thing in the 'fridge, which is how we like carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Delicious! I made these cupcakes for my Mum's birthday and they were a huge hit. The only thing I added was a dash of nutmeg to the batter & then topped the cupcake with cream cheese frosting. YUM! I'm sure I'll make this again... and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Love this recipe. I use 1 t baking powder in addition to the baking soda, 1 cup of plain applesauce and NO OIL are my only changes. My grandchildren LOVE it. We baked one on Saturday and my granddaughter was shocked that there were actual real carrots in the cake. She thought it was just the name of the cake. :-) I make my frosting by combing 1 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1 heaping teaspoon of vanilla and just a little over 2 cups of SIFTED confectioners sugar. Baked at 325 in dark cake pans for 35 minutes and it was perfect (gas oven). I always sprinkle chopped walnuts on top just to make it a little prettier. Try this cake, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I made this cake as a surprise for my mother, and she loved it, as did everyone else in my family! I did not have any heavy whipping cream on hand, so instead I used regular creamer. It seemed to work just as well! I have a nut allergy, so I also left out the walnuts, and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Unbelieveable recipe! It turned out sooo good! Kids loved it and i have had a piece every night! :) Very easy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States