Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
My whole family enjoyed this cake. My husband ate more than his fair share! I modified this recipe by adding raisins. Next time I make, I will add more cream cheese to the frosting and a bit less sugar. It was too sweet in my opionion. Other than that, it was one of the best carrot cakes I have eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is an outstanding cake recipe! I made it for my dad and he had to have another piece (so did I)! The one thing I disagree with is the putting the frosting on early and that doesn't affect the taste! This is a divine cake for any occasion at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flourpuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I used this recipe as a Gluten Free recipe by substituting GF flour for the regular. It turned out great! The party goers actually preferred my GF version over the regular one I made as well! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chorusgirl3
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made this to use up some carrots and it turned out pretty well. I added a teaspoon of baking powder like most the people suggested and it came out great. There is a lot of oil for my taste and I remember a trick my mother would use when making carrot cake and that is to substitute apple sauce for the oil and that cuts the calories in half (or more) I'll have to try it that way next time I make the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorusgirl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Pretty darned tasty! I used maybe ½ tsp cinnamon (allergies in the house) and I added a few shakes of nutmeg to make up for it. I also used only 1 cup of oil. I used more like 3-½ cups of carrots; and, as suggested by other reviewers, I used Cream Cheese Frosting II. It was fabulous and moist and gone in two days! Oh, and it took around 45 minutes at 350 for a 9x13 pan. Thanks for sharing, Autumn/Fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
love this in combination w/creamcheese frostingII by janni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I think this is a fab cake! I have made it twice in cupcake form. Just so you know to anyone who didn't try the frosting it isn't too sweet. Its very delicate tasting. I prefer it to the other recipes that have butter. Plus I have seen some recipes that have 4 cups of powdered sugar to pkg of cream cheese. This came out perfect. I am currently researching recipes for a cupcakery I plan to open and I can tell you I will be using this one. I love nut and the first time I used pecans and walnuts and I put more in than what this said. The second time 2 days later my husband asked me to make it again but I didn't have any nuts so I diced up apple. Turned out beautiful both times. My husband is a sheriff and all his co-workers are my taste testers. They claimed this one a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
The cake was great, but only gave it four stars because of the cook time. I thought an hour and 20 minutes sounded like too long. I checked it at one hour, and it was completely done. My oven doesn't normally cook fast, so I will always shorten the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This is the only recipe I will ever use again!!! Everyone loves it!!! I used a different recipe for cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara Rowlett Zuccaro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is by far the most moist and delicious (not to mention easy ) carrot cake I have ever had. I double the recipe and make a stacked 9 1/2 x 11 layer cake for big birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States