Carrot Cake with PHILLY Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was okay. Very moist but not as flavourful as the recipe I've used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
It was fantastic, the only thing I would do differently is I would blend up the pineapple very, very fine. I did not like the little chunks of the crushed pineapple that I used. Tasted great just visually it was not as nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I did not use this recipe for the cake but I did use the recipe for the cream cheese frosting. We didn't like it. BUT, I will say this. In trying to cut our some fat/calories I used fat free cream cheese and I think that was probably the problem. So, I would recommend following the exact ingredients in case it was because of using the fat free stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
good... i only used it for the icing and that alone is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little ed

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I totally loved it, THOUGH: I put more cinnamon (2-3 tbsp and put less sugar in the icing + it was the vanilla one) and it came out perfect! Those changes really make a difference. I've been making this cake for quite a while now, and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was the best Carrot Cake I have ever had! Followed the recipe exactly and it came out awesome, took it with us on Christmas Day to my Sister-inlaws house and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Didn't use pineapple. Turned out fine. (maybe a little oily). Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this recipe GLUTEN FREE using Bob's Red Mill baking mix, and it was fantastic. I wasn't sure about the pineapple at first, but it proves to be a powerful surprise ingredient. Just wanted to let you guys know that the moisture in this recipe makes it great for translating to gluten free baking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I actually only used the icing recipe here, and it was perfect with a few modifications. I'm using it for pumpkin cookies, so I left out lemon juice and peel and used about a teaspoon of vanilla extract + TWO packages of cream cheese. It took all I had not to sit down with the bowl and eat it straight. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fuzzycat30
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I searched forever trying to find the perfect cake, decided on this one based off reviews & am so happy I did, HUGE HIT, everyone who has tried it has loved it. I did cut the sugar in the frosting to 1 1/2 cups as mentioned and I decided to make it a 3 layer cake (8 inches) & baked for approx 30-40 mins, came out perfect, moist & yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States