Carrot Cake with PHILLY Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I changed some things based on personal preference and it was amazing! I'll never try another recipe again. I used whole wheat flour, substituted sugar free applesauce for half of the oil, used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown, added 1 cup raisins (soaked in 1 cup water, microwaved for 1 minute, then drained), doubled the cinnamon to 2 T, and made the recipe into cupcakes which cut the baking time down to 18 mins. No need for the frosting...these are delicious and plenty sweet as they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
excellent! Very easy to make. Nice and moist with a very tasty lemon cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Did not try this cake but the best and easiest cream cheese icing I have come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Just for the frosting! Only had 1/12 cups icing sugar, and it was the perfect sweetness. The splash of lemon juice is the secret weapon though! My mom makes a similar cake all the time, and she raved about the icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abbieo
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Its really a perfect recipe,i can even sell it.its really amazing mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was a delicious cake, it was a huge hit at our church Christmas potluck lunch. However, I would reduce the amount of salt to almost no salt. But otherwise, it was moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This carrot cake turned out super moist! I improvised a bit, using about 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar. I didn't add pineapple, and I didn't make frosting. Next time I will use even less sugar, it was plenty sweet as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Made this recipe as written (less the lemon peel). Everyone loved it. The cake was still moist even after a few days. Icing could be used in a variety of cake recipes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Awesome!! I used whole wheat flour because that is all that I had, and it was absolutely delicious! The icing was incredibly good. Will definitely be adding to my best recipe folder!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I like this recipe alot. taste is good and I'm in love with cream cheese icing anyways and use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States