Carrot Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
the best. i will never make a different carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Unfortunately I did not get to actually taste this recipe, BUT after sending it to work with my Hubby I got requests for more! I wanted to make this into a double layer cake so I added a quarter more of everything. To make this a bit healthier I subbed Unsweetened Applesauce for the Oil. ALSO, I did not have Wheat Germ so I substituted All Purpose Flour in its place. For no particular reason I also added a touch of Orange Juice. Hee hee! And to finish it off I frosted with homemade cream cheese icing. Hmmmm... Wish I had tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very very good! Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Amazing! I followed recipe except healthier choices. I used splenda for the sugar and apple sauce for the oil. I only used half cream cheese frosting from one of the other carrot cake recipes. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, Very Good!! we added chocolate chips, plus subsituted applesauce for the oil. Chocked full of goodness! Everyone loved the cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is very good and you feel good eating it! I did change a few things. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil, used only 3/4 c of sugar, replaced the coconut with raisins (I made this for my 1 yr olds b-day and he loves rasins :) ) and cut the nuts in half. He loved it and we did too. I did cheat and use the cream cheese frosting from Carrot Cake III from here. I had extra batter so I made muffins for my husbands breakfast. Will definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cup (since applesauce is naturally sweeter than oil). I prefer to pre-cook my carrots, and added cream cheese frosting. Delicious! It doesn't even taste whole wheat. Next time I am going to try replacing the sugar with maple syrup to cut down even more on the processed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is what I was looking for! Had a great carrot cake at a little bistro with whole wheat, pineapple, nuts and so soft. This one does it. I will probably add a few more carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This cake was a huge success and so easy to make! Every bite was so flavourful & moist! I highly recommend it BUT it requires a cream cheese icing to complete it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very good for being so healthy. Of course, it had a nice layer of cream cheese frosting too. I took suggestions from others and made the following modifications. * only 1 cup sugar * no oil * 1 cup unsweetened applesauce * closer to 3 cups carrots * coconut was sweetened (part of the reason I reduced the sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States