Carrot Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I love Carrot Cake! I have my own recipe that's a winner with friends and family, but I wanted to try it with whole wheat flour to see if I could tell a big difference in taste. Well, I tried this cake recipe (Carrot Cake X) minus the wheat germ this past weekend (9/19/04) and I loved it. Everyone who sampled a piece enjoyed it as well. The whole wheat flour gives the cake a nice texture, and it doesn't change the taste of the cake! This is definately a winner in my book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Amazing! I followed recipe except healthier choices. I used splenda for the sugar and apple sauce for the oil. I only used half cream cheese frosting from one of the other carrot cake recipes. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I added low-fat homemade cream cheese icing to keep it relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is very good and you feel good eating it! I did change a few things. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil, used only 3/4 c of sugar, replaced the coconut with raisins (I made this for my 1 yr olds b-day and he loves rasins :) ) and cut the nuts in half. He loved it and we did too. I did cheat and use the cream cheese frosting from Carrot Cake III from here. I had extra batter so I made muffins for my husbands breakfast. Will definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Unfortunately I did not get to actually taste this recipe, BUT after sending it to work with my Hubby I got requests for more! I wanted to make this into a double layer cake so I added a quarter more of everything. To make this a bit healthier I subbed Unsweetened Applesauce for the Oil. ALSO, I did not have Wheat Germ so I substituted All Purpose Flour in its place. For no particular reason I also added a touch of Orange Juice. Hee hee! And to finish it off I frosted with homemade cream cheese icing. Hmmmm... Wish I had tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Really heavy but then again carrot cake is a heavy cake. Tasty. Probably one of the healthiest versions of carrot cake out there. I might modify it next time with added raisins and sugar substitute. This time I used olive oil and it was fine. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is what I was looking for! Had a great carrot cake at a little bistro with whole wheat, pineapple, nuts and so soft. This one does it. I will probably add a few more carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
the best. i will never make a different carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I baked this cake on the recommendation, and with the assistance, of a friend because it is a healthier option for a delicious treat. We substituted the sugar with just over 1 1/4 cups of honey and followed the recipe otherwise. It was DELICIOUS! While the cake is quite dense, as a carrot cake should be, it was also very moist without having an undue amount of oil present. I would highly recommend this cake based on taste alone, the fact that it is a healthier option is a lovely benefit! Give it a try, you will be delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This cake is absolutely delicious! I didn't use any kind of icing with it because it was just sweet enough and the flavor was just right that it didn't need it. Yummy!! Has a more sophisticated flavor than regular cakes, so both the adults and the children enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherryTree

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States