Carrot Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Astounding! I, like everyone , made a few changes. I doubled this recipe and it actually made enough for a 3 layer cake! I used no wheat germ , but added 1 cup of applesauce, 1/4 c of orange juice , 1 c of golden raisins, and 4 small plastic containers of pureed carrot baby food! For spicing, I used, ginger, nutmeg , clove and cinnamon to taste.Deliciously moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Awesome - especially since it is make with whole wheat flour. I cut the sugar back to 1 cup and was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Cake was strange, nothing like any carrot cake that I had ever tasted. I made it for my son's birthday and he didn't like it...so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I thought this cake was very dry and did not have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very good for being so healthy. Of course, it had a nice layer of cream cheese frosting too. I took suggestions from others and made the following modifications. * only 1 cup sugar * no oil * 1 cup unsweetened applesauce * closer to 3 cups carrots * coconut was sweetened (part of the reason I reduced the sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This cake was a huge success and so easy to make! Every bite was so flavourful & moist! I highly recommend it BUT it requires a cream cheese icing to complete it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is what I was looking for! Had a great carrot cake at a little bistro with whole wheat, pineapple, nuts and so soft. This one does it. I will probably add a few more carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cup (since applesauce is naturally sweeter than oil). I prefer to pre-cook my carrots, and added cream cheese frosting. Delicious! It doesn't even taste whole wheat. Next time I am going to try replacing the sugar with maple syrup to cut down even more on the processed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is very good and you feel good eating it! I did change a few things. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil, used only 3/4 c of sugar, replaced the coconut with raisins (I made this for my 1 yr olds b-day and he loves rasins :) ) and cut the nuts in half. He loved it and we did too. I did cheat and use the cream cheese frosting from Carrot Cake III from here. I had extra batter so I made muffins for my husbands breakfast. Will definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, Very Good!! we added chocolate chips, plus subsituted applesauce for the oil. Chocked full of goodness! Everyone loved the cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States