Carrot Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This is one of the best carrot cake recipes I've ever tried. I think this will be my "usual" recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
We thought this cake was fabulous. I made these alterations: I used two cups all purpose flour and one cup whole wheat flour, and this seemed to make the cake more dense--something I really liked. Also, I used low-fat cream cheese for the icing. Since this made the icing rather thin, I refrigerated the cake after frosting it, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aprldwn
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Yum! I made this recipe for Thanksgiving at the in-laws. I made a few substitutions based on what I like. Such as pumpkin for applesauce and pecans for walnuts. It turned out great! Very moist. I have to admit I like it better with butter than frosting, but I made the Cream Cheese Frosting II (half the sugar) and so far everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
What a great carrot cake! I made this cake for a wedding aniversary for a couple who had carrot cake for their wedding. They loved the texture with all of the extra ingredients (coconut, pineapple, raisins, walnuts). I too used a mix of whole wheat and white flour, as well as ground flax seed. I needed to thicken the frosting as I made a pan cake rather than a bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia-Beth
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
The icing really was the best part!! The orange was so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I liked this cake. It was very dense. The frosting was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I brought this cake to my family reunion and got a ton of compliments! I didn't have any raisins, so I left those out, and I used peach-mango applesauce, because that's what I had. I also used Pilsbury Cream Cheese icing because I was afraid I'd screw up the icing. It was so very moist. Probably the best carrot cake I've ever had. My grandmother is a baker and was saying that this should be my specialty! My husbands family reunion is next week-end and I'll be makeing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used my own pumpkin pie spice: equal parts of ground ginger, ground cloves, ground nutmeg and cinnamon. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Outstanding recipe, beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made this cake for my son's first birthday and it was such a huge hit! All the kids and grown ups loved it. I made the lettering with the icing colored with forest black berries because I did not want to use any artificial colorings and it looked fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agnieshka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States