Carrot Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I brought this cake to my family reunion and got a ton of compliments! I didn't have any raisins, so I left those out, and I used peach-mango applesauce, because that's what I had. I also used Pilsbury Cream Cheese icing because I was afraid I'd screw up the icing. It was so very moist. Probably the best carrot cake I've ever had. My grandmother is a baker and was saying that this should be my specialty! My husbands family reunion is next week-end and I'll be makeing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia-Beth
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
The icing really was the best part!! The orange was so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This is one of the best carrot cake recipes I've ever tried. I think this will be my "usual" recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I liked this cake. It was very dense. The frosting was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
We thought this cake was fabulous. I made these alterations: I used two cups all purpose flour and one cup whole wheat flour, and this seemed to make the cake more dense--something I really liked. Also, I used low-fat cream cheese for the icing. Since this made the icing rather thin, I refrigerated the cake after frosting it, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aprldwn
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Yum! I made this recipe for Thanksgiving at the in-laws. I made a few substitutions based on what I like. Such as pumpkin for applesauce and pecans for walnuts. It turned out great! Very moist. I have to admit I like it better with butter than frosting, but I made the Cream Cheese Frosting II (half the sugar) and so far everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used my own pumpkin pie spice: equal parts of ground ginger, ground cloves, ground nutmeg and cinnamon. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
What a great carrot cake! I made this cake for a wedding aniversary for a couple who had carrot cake for their wedding. They loved the texture with all of the extra ingredients (coconut, pineapple, raisins, walnuts). I too used a mix of whole wheat and white flour, as well as ground flax seed. I needed to thicken the frosting as I made a pan cake rather than a bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Outstanding recipe, beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made this cake for my son's first birthday and it was such a huge hit! All the kids and grown ups loved it. I made the lettering with the icing colored with forest black berries because I did not want to use any artificial colorings and it looked fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agnieshka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States