Carrot Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Huge hit for Christmas! I used whole wheat pastry flour and the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe on this site. Fabulously dense, moist and got raves from the family and made a nice presentation in the bundt format. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I cooked this cake for thanksgiving, to add a little twist to tradition, and my family LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was the BEST carrot cake I have EVER had! And I love carrot cake. Very moist and great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is the best Carrot Cake I have ever tasted. It is moist, sweet and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
The cake is very good, with loads of everything. I like to work with raw ingredients. I think the only flaw is that the recipe omits to mention one should sift the flour. Nobody really does anymore, but air is as important an ingredient to a good cake as anything, just as adding water to anything should include filtering the water first. A recipe is only is as good as the ingredients and this cake has many good ingredients. Add air and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaubrent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I made it, but it doesn't taste like carrot, it tastes to anything, less to carrot! I'd like to make a carrot cake, puffy and not like a block of concrete! it seems made from left over bread. Not good to be recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
It was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
i made this for my husbands birthday and was a little nervous for the first time making any cake from scratch. everyone loved it and i followed the recipe exactly! will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was fantastic!! My family loved this! I left out the coconut because I wasn't sure about coconut in my carrot cake, and also my mom isn't a big fan of coconut. The cake was moist and the icing was great-different than the norm, a nice change! I also baked this in a 13x9 pyrex. Baking time was approximately 50 minutes. It came out perfect!! Definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daymora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I'm stingy with 5 star ratings, but this cake deserves it! I made the batter exactly as listed except for the pumpkin pie spice. Didn't have any, and based off of a recipe for pumpkin pie spice on this site (seriously!), I mixed into a small container 3/4 tsp each of ginger, cloves, nutmeg and about 2 tsp cinnamon. Mixed together and it was just about perfect for 1.5 tbl of pumpkin pie spice. PLEASE NOTE I baked this carrot cake in TWO 9" WILTON ROUND PANS, not a Bundt pan. If you choose to do this too, the baking time will be *approximately* 30 minutes. ALSO NOTE that there is too much batter for two standard 9" pans. I placed 3 cups of batter into each pan, spread evenly and it was about 3/4 full. It turned out to be the perfect amount as the cake doesn't rise much. There was enough batter left over for 4 cupcakes, which I baked for about 20-22 minutes. Before baking in the pans and the paper cup liners, I sprayed with cooking spray, but didn't bother with flouring. I had no problems getting my cakes out of the pans after they had cooled on racks. I had my doubts over the coconut and pineapple in carrot cake, but I couldn't even taste the pineapple and the coconut seemed to give it that decadent bakery flavor. This was a dense cake, moist, and just delish. It could definitely pass for a professional bakery cake. I paired it with the cream cheese frosting II from this site. I made this on Saturday for Easter dinner. Not sure if making it a day before helped i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States