Carrot Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Glad I waited a week before reviewing this recipe. Couple of minor changes - used 1/2 white whole wheat flour in place of all AP and used golden raisins. Think next time I'll try all white WW flour and add some ginger. The reason I'm glad for the delay in writing this review is that the carrot cake (more like a quick bread) improved in flavor every day. Ate the last slice this morning and it was moist and delicious. Amazing that there were no eggs and little fat, although the walnuts (which I chopped very finely as one reviewer suggested) added some healthy fat. Try a slice spread with low-fat cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I wish I could give this 6 stars! You will not believe how good it is. And it has no eggs and just 2 tsp. of butter! Every bite is full of raisin-walnut-spice deliciousness! Be aware of the baking time though. At about 45 min the top will start getting burned. Also, in my opinion, 1 tsp. of cloves was too much, it overshadows the other flavors. Same goes for the nutmeg. I would go with 1/2 tsp. of cloves and 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg. I added 1 tsp. of ground ginger, it's a good combination with the carrots. And perhaps if you don't like a too sweet cake you could cut back on the sugar a bit because the raisins keep it sweet enough. I used 1 tsp. of baking soda and 1 tsp. of baking powder because I was afraid 2 tsp. of baking soda would affect the taste.... Those are my suggestions, but even exactly as it is written it is excellent. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Moist and delicious! Thanks for sharing, Erma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This did not turn out as a cake-like substance. It was so moist that it fell apart when attempted to remove it slice by slice from the pan. Sweet flavor, but not able to hold itself together as a servable cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
We were so surprised how well this tasted considering there are no eggs in the recipe. We added 1 can of Pineapple chunks without syrup and only added 1 cup of the sugar and used 1/2 cup of Canola Oil instread. It was so moist and sweet and chunky with all the ingredients. It was a hit with our Christmas Eve dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
rave reviews from friends and colleagues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhippy1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aschaffenburg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Hi Erma This is indeed excellent carrot cake. I looked high and low for a recipe that used a fraction of the oil that most recipes called for. I agree with another reviewer that it is more like quick bread, but never-the-less it is excellent. Moist, tender, flavorful. That being said, I made a couple of changes for my preferences: doubled the spices; decreased baking soda to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp baking powder. Also added crushed pineapple and used the juice to make up some of the liquid. Decreased sugar to 1 cup: half brown and half white (Whey-Low). Used 2 cups grated carrots. What a great recipe. Cooking all the fruit and veggies for a few minutes has to be the secret to the moistness. I let it cool thoroughly before baking. Baked in an 11x7 baking dish to make a single layer to cut into squares for lunch boxes. My family was in heaven. I bet it will be better in a couple of days--if it lasts that long. thank you so much Judy in WA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Best ever except I left out the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
One of my coworkers is vegan, so I substituted all-purpose flour for whole spelt flour and butter for 2 tsp of oil. Besides, I substituted water for juice and apple sauce (I added ~0.5 cup more liquid because of whole spelt). I forgot to cook carrots, but nonetheless the cake turned out to be delicious, guilty free cake!People said it was the best cake ever and they did not believe it was vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States