Carrot Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I loved this cake, but my husband says it tastes too much like cinnamon and not enough like carrot cake. The recipe calls for two 4.5 ounce carrot baby food jars, but the baby food I found came in four-ounce jars. Maybe it's my oven, but I had to bake it at least a full ten minutes longer than the recipe called for. The cream cheese frosting was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
These were good, made them in cupcake form for my son's birthday. I prefer the traditional carrots/pineapple version for a cake. These were more a spicy carrot muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My daughter's birthday is St. Patty's day. She asks for this cake every year. We often have a big party - we're the Ryan family - & this cake gets rave reviews. Sometimes I use the cream cheese frosting, sometimes I just dust it with powdered sugar. Either way, it's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PM181920
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I have bought some carrots a few days ago, and realized I overstocked, nervous that they will go to waste, I began my quest for an easy carrot cake recipe. (Which is my favorite by the way :) I came across this wonderful recipe, and decided to give it a try. Of course with making a slight change, substituting carrot baby food , with real carrots. Keep in mind that a) this is my first time baking anything from scratch b) I am almost incapable of following cooking instructions c) I am a queen at craziest ingredient substitutions. Nevertheless, somehow I managed to pull it together this time, surprisingly I had all the needed ingredients, so no need for substitutions, and I actually managed to follow the instructions, as they were clear and simple (THANK YOU)! The only other change I made, was to frosting, I added it some lemon zest to it, just for little extra kick.My cupcakes , came out great ! I would have never in million years would have thought it was possible. Thank you so much for a great recipe ! Definitely a winner !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PM181920

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I tried this! And it turned out really well. But I used fresh carrots instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This recipe is just perfect. My cake came out amazing and not only was it moist it had such flavor to it. The icing was delicious as well. I highly recommend making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Great texture-I added raisins and used walnuts instead of pecans, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
my favorite carrot cake recipe. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This review is for the cake only, as I used a different recipe for the frosting. I made 28 cupcakes out of this recipe. I chose this recipe because the cupcakes were easy for my 3 yr old to help make with the carrot baby food; no grating carrots. He and his friends loved them, and my husband did too. My FIL thought they were gingerbread instead of carrot, so not a strong carrot flavor, but overall very good and moist. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This cake was amazing didn't change a thing about it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States