Carrot Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This cake is delicious! I made it into cupcakes (12 mins in the oven - made about 28) for a bridal shower and got tons of compliments. I did not think it was bland at all. Great flavor, great texture, and so easy to make. Frosted the cupcakes with the Cream Cheese Frosting II - had a bit left over. The two go together very well and many people have asked me for the recipe. Even someone who normally hates carrot cake loved this! I highly recommend it! UPDATE: I have made this recipe many times, in cupcakes and regular cake. It's always a huge hit. In cake form, you can use all of the frosting you make from Cream Cheese Frosting II. UPDATE 2: Still making this 6 years later and still a huge hit. Fills a 13 x 9 pan quite well and baked in 50 minutes. For that size, you need only half of the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe to frost the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This is the easiest carrot cake to make. I have had this recipe for over 32 years and have had restaurant owners ask me for the recipe. It is a very moist cake. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! My fiance and I both don't care for the texture most carrot cakes have, from the grated carrot. The baby food in this recipe takes care of that problem nicely! I've made only this recipe since I first tried it, and I have always had a nice, moist, fluffy cake. I've followed the directions exactly, and never had the problem with the cake under-cooking, like some people are talking about (and my oven heats on the lower side, too). I really recommend this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I'm diabetic, so I use Splenda instead of sugar, and I used Neufchatel instead of regular cream cheese in the frosting, but the cake was delicious anyway - and not expensive at all to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This is THE recipe form me! I substituted applesauce for the carrots, works the same! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is a really good, moist recipe...BUT, I think using baby food as opposed to real carrots provides a WAY muted carrot flavor, so it was not what I was looking for : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Easy to make and WONDERFUL to eat!! I had many compliments on it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I have made this recipe now probably a good hundred times, work gatherings, Sunday dinners, Holidays.... and Just because. Everyone always loves it. It has never once failed me. This is THE best recipe I have found I always have to make two batches. One to keep for home and one for the function I am taking it to. This has the perfect blend of spices and a lovely texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Wow! I made this for my aunt's birthday, and I don't even like carrot cake, but this was wonderful! The icing was great, too. I didn't have cloves, though. I'll most certainly make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
excellent recipe! easy and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States