Carrot Cake Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Pretty easy, really. Just a little bit of prep. My changes: Less ginger and nutmeg per other reviews Added 1 tsp of vanilla and about 1 T of brown sugar Skipped yogurt Skipped sugaring the nuts Served with coconut milk from a carton and chopped walnuts. 4 yr old ate 3 bowls after crying about it containing carrots, LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkhurt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Loved this!!! Like a lot of you I modified it a little... I used wheatberries instead of oats and currants instead of raisins. I also added a capful of vanilla and a half tsp of pumpkin pie spice inplace of the individual spices. I did however still add the tsp of cinnamon. I followed the advice of others and doubled the shredded carrots. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Used three shredded carrots and skipped raisins. Used fresh ginger. It was ok. The nuts are essential. Didn't care for warm yogurt. Still prefer apples. We ate some- very filling- but will not take time to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Thought this was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Never serve a new recipe to company without trying it first! This was watery and somewhat tasteless. It was slightly better the second day. I used mostly cinnamon since I don't like ginger, but I added pumpkin pie spice. I made a topper of cream cheese, vanilla, and sugar, which did add flavor, and which has become my favorite bagel spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I do *not* like oatmeal. I try to make myself eat it, though, and I thought this was wonderful. I had to use regular old fashioned oats, so as others had suggested, I simply cooked them for a few minutes before adding the oats. I do wish I had used a better apple. I used Red Delicious (all I had on had) and while it gave texture, it really didn't add much flavor. Next time I'll use a Granny Smith or other tart apple. Thank you so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This turned out FAB-ulous!!! by far awesome. I have to thank some members on the forum for help with locating some recipes for my vegan/vegetarian SIL and celiac MIL. I prepped this recipe for a road trip vacation with the family...so it was easy to assemble, easy to follow. And totally easy to make. This was a total hit with myself, my inlaws and one of my kiddo's....the flavor just popped, the fruit just tantalized the taste buds, it needed just a tad bit of sugar in my bowl, but no butter was needed, and used a coconut milk non-dairy based yogurt to top with the pecans.....It's going to be a staple. It was just raving good! I can't say much more on how excellent it is and turned out. TY TY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Nice oatmeal. Next time I will add more carrot. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I was not expecting to like this as much as I did. I expected it to need more sweetness, but it didn't. I thought I would not like the plain yogurt topping, but I did (used plain nonfat Greek yogurt). I didn't think the nuts would add all that much flavor to the recipe, but they did. I cut the recipe down to 2 servings. The only other change I made was to grate the apple. This made a delightful, filling breakfast...one I'm looking forward to having again tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Great way to get both fruit, veggies, and a whole grain in first thing in the morning in a not-too-sweet dish! Didn't have steel cut oats, so I used old fashioned,adjusted the oats to water ratio, grated the apple along with the carrot and cooked it all up in the microwave for about 2 1/2 minutes. Didn't use butter and dry roasted up some pecans. Added the brown sugar to plain fat free greek yogurt. Only took minutes to prepare and a very nice sweetness from the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States