Carrot Cake Muffins with Cinnamon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These were very good! But I do agree with the reviewers who said there was too much sugar in them. I would definitely cut back next time. I did use a cup of whole wheat pastry flour and omitted the pineapples and coconut (don't like either in my carrot cake). Turned out fine. My glaze was not white like the picture because the cinnamon automatically darkens the glaze. Overall, this is a recipe worth keeping. Just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I just didn't care for the taste and texture of these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Awesome! My kids loved them! I added raisins too, and they were a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Made it as a bundt cake, substituted apple sauce for the oil,& cooked it for 40 minutes. So good & moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've made these twice, once as mini muffins (I took them to work and they were a big hit) and once as regular-sized muffins (when my in-laws came to visit; my MIL especially loved them). The only change I made was to reduce the sugar a bit (and to use the lemon juice with milk trick for the buttermilk, which we don't have here). The muffins were moist and tasted great. The recipe makes a lot of muffins, but they do freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Very moist and easy recipe. I halved the recipe and added some extra flour as it was a little too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Instead of oil, I add baby food carrots! Still is very moist and makes more "carroty"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waubeka, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This looks so delicious and will attempt to make it...I have a question..would it be okay to use canned carrots(pureed) instead of the other igredient to make it moist, to get more of the carrot flavor in there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I loved this! I made exactly as stated, and yes, you could probably cut back on the sugar. I would likely cut the white sugar back to 1/2 c and the brown to 3/4 cup. I omitted the allspice (not a fan) and instead of using coconut, I used raisins, which were lovely in the muffins. For the drizzle on top, instead of buttermilk, I used lemon juice in it's place with the sugar and cinnamon. Really lovely! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
A very moist muffin. I halved the recipe and used applesauce instead of oil and added some finely chopped walnuts. Did not make the glaze as they were great without it. Thanks, TPADULA, for sharing a new muffin for us to try. A keeper for us !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States