Carrot Cake Muffins with Cinnamon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I was looking for some healthy, delicious muffins; and these are them!! To make them even healthier, I cut the sugar in half, substituted applesauce for the oil, and used milk with a touch of lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. I also added 1/2 c. raisins because I think all carrot muffins need raisins. :) The glaze is the perfect topping. You won't regret making these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are like a super-duper breakfast muffin. I didn't have buttermilk so I added a tsp. vinegar to regular milk. I also cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown. Finally for the topping I chopped up 1/4 cup walnuts, mixed them in with 1 tsp cinnamon and 2 tbs white sugar. The topping really turned out awesome with these little babies. A great muffin, especially if you love a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceanfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made a half batch of these and they made nine muffins, not twelve. That would have been a handy piece of information to have. I used all whole wheat flour, doubled the spices and cut the sugars down to half. I also omitted the coconut as my husband is allergic and I did not make the glaze. My family thought these were great and the extra sugar (or the glaze, for that matter) wasn't missed. Really moist and fluffy muffin. IMO, I think this might make better mini-muffins, especially for a brunch or Mom's Meetup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Yum! So fluffy and light... and super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I couldn't find my muffin tins so I used a bundt pan and called this Carrot Muffin Cake w/ Cinnamon glaze. I substituted finely chopped walnuts and a little oatmeal for the coconut since I didn't have any. Also, I used frozen pineapple pureed with Orange juice since I didn't have canned. Finally since I didn't own buttermilk, I used fat free vanilla yogurt mixed with a little half and half. This worked fine in both the cake and glaze. I had to double the cooking time but all and all I loved the result. Thanks for providing a great recipe for me to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
My kids loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
We absolutly loved them. The only changes I made was that I used milk instead of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Delicious. Tips for making them a bit healthier, but still moist and sweet: I reduced brown sugar to a heaping 1/2 cup, white sugar to a heaping 1/3 cup, and reduced oil to 1/4 cup. I also added 1/2 cup of raisins for an extra treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Tasty, heavy, hearty muffins. There are a lot of ingredients and the glaze is not necessay, hence the 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States