Carrot Cake Muffins with Cinnamon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made these for my son's snack at school and they were well-liked. They aren't overly sweet, but there is enough sweetness to make them appealing, especially with the glaze. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
These are good but a bit bland, even though I accidentally used 2 tablespoons of cinnamon instead of 2 teaspoons. I also thought they were too sweet, even though I did not use the glaze. Still, a good recipe to start from. Next time I will use 2 T cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp allspice, no white sugar, and add plumped raisins. I'll also chop the pineapple in a food processor before adding it--I didn't care for the chunks. I got 20 muffins, but I like to fill my cups mostly full for a nicely rounded muffin. When I calculated the calories for this recipe, I came up with 210 calories each (for 24 muffins) WITHOUT the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Was looking for a recipe for carrot cake muffins similar to Mimi's cafe...with other fruit in it. These sure were great! Love the addition of pineapple and coconut, and I even added golden raisins...the buttermilk is a great too. Am sharing it several places and plan to bring recipe cards with me. Doesn't even really need the frosting... So I really love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
These were good muffins that are best when eaten the day they are baked. Because of the glaze, mine started to get a little gooey the day after. The spice is just right, and they baked up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I was looking for some healthy, delicious muffins; and these are them!! To make them even healthier, I cut the sugar in half, substituted applesauce for the oil, and used milk with a touch of lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. I also added 1/2 c. raisins because I think all carrot muffins need raisins. :) The glaze is the perfect topping. You won't regret making these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are like a super-duper breakfast muffin. I didn't have buttermilk so I added a tsp. vinegar to regular milk. I also cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown. Finally for the topping I chopped up 1/4 cup walnuts, mixed them in with 1 tsp cinnamon and 2 tbs white sugar. The topping really turned out awesome with these little babies. A great muffin, especially if you love a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceanfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made a half batch of these and they made nine muffins, not twelve. That would have been a handy piece of information to have. I used all whole wheat flour, doubled the spices and cut the sugars down to half. I also omitted the coconut as my husband is allergic and I did not make the glaze. My family thought these were great and the extra sugar (or the glaze, for that matter) wasn't missed. Really moist and fluffy muffin. IMO, I think this might make better mini-muffins, especially for a brunch or Mom's Meetup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Yum! So fluffy and light... and super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Atton Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I couldn't find my muffin tins so I used a bundt pan and called this Carrot Muffin Cake w/ Cinnamon glaze. I substituted finely chopped walnuts and a little oatmeal for the coconut since I didn't have any. Also, I used frozen pineapple pureed with Orange juice since I didn't have canned. Finally since I didn't own buttermilk, I used fat free vanilla yogurt mixed with a little half and half. This worked fine in both the cake and glaze. I had to double the cooking time but all and all I loved the result. Thanks for providing a great recipe for me to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States