Carrot Cake Muffins with Cinnamon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This looks so delicious and will attempt to make it...I have a question..would it be okay to use canned carrots(pureed) instead of the other igredient to make it moist, to get more of the carrot flavor in there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I loved this! I made exactly as stated, and yes, you could probably cut back on the sugar. I would likely cut the white sugar back to 1/2 c and the brown to 3/4 cup. I omitted the allspice (not a fan) and instead of using coconut, I used raisins, which were lovely in the muffins. For the drizzle on top, instead of buttermilk, I used lemon juice in it's place with the sugar and cinnamon. Really lovely! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
A very moist muffin. I halved the recipe and used applesauce instead of oil and added some finely chopped walnuts. Did not make the glaze as they were great without it. Thanks, TPADULA, for sharing a new muffin for us to try. A keeper for us !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe is really good, and easy to make. I didn't have the pineapple so I grated 3 apples and added that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This rating is for the glaze.. loved it! I wanted a glaze for my carrot cake that wasn't cream cheese based and found this one to try. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These are really yummy muffins! I made some mini-muffins and a few regular sized (48 and 4 respectively). The one thing I would suggest to others who want to make these: if you are looking for a strong carrot flavor (more like a carrot cake), add more carrot than what is recommended. I used about 4 carrots from my garden (medium sized) and I found the carrot flavor was still a bit muted, especially paired with the strong cinnamon flavor of the glaze; so I would suggest using about 5 med-sized carrots. Also, I used applesauce instead of oil and found the muffins to be really nice and moist! Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made these for my son's snack at school and they were well-liked. They aren't overly sweet, but there is enough sweetness to make them appealing, especially with the glaze. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
These are good but a bit bland, even though I accidentally used 2 tablespoons of cinnamon instead of 2 teaspoons. I also thought they were too sweet, even though I did not use the glaze. Still, a good recipe to start from. Next time I will use 2 T cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp allspice, no white sugar, and add plumped raisins. I'll also chop the pineapple in a food processor before adding it--I didn't care for the chunks. I got 20 muffins, but I like to fill my cups mostly full for a nicely rounded muffin. When I calculated the calories for this recipe, I came up with 210 calories each (for 24 muffins) WITHOUT the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Was looking for a recipe for carrot cake muffins similar to Mimi's cafe...with other fruit in it. These sure were great! Love the addition of pineapple and coconut, and I even added golden raisins...the buttermilk is a great too. Am sharing it several places and plan to bring recipe cards with me. Doesn't even really need the frosting... So I really love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
These were good muffins that are best when eaten the day they are baked. Because of the glaze, mine started to get a little gooey the day after. The spice is just right, and they baked up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States