Carrot Cake Muffins with Cinnamon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Excellent! They tasted like little carrot cakes, but far less rich (put some cream cheese icing though, and you've got the richness!). I subbed yogurt for the buttermilk, and they came out moist and delicious. Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I cut this recipe in half and made mini muffins. I was making this for my 2 year old and didn't know if he'd like it, so I didn't want to make a full batch. I did make some changes as well. I left out the coconut and replaced the oil with applesauce and the buttermilk with regular milk. I also increased the carrot (a half batch called for 1 1/2 and I used about 2 1/2). I kept the temp of my oven at 375 and the mini muffins were done in about 13 minutes. I ended up with 31 of them filling the pan 3/4 of the way. Next time I make these, I will omit the white sugar and the allspice. They just had a bit more spice than I wanted. All in all, they came out very moist and I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I substituted 1 cup of regular flour with whole wheat flour, used 1/3 cup of white sugar rather than 2, and used applesauce instead of oil. I also cooked the muffins for a shorter time as my oven is a bit temperamental. The muffins turned out great(I also did mini muffins) - very moist, lots of flavour and I loved the chewy addition of coconut. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmella333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These were very good! But I do agree with the reviewers who said there was too much sugar in them. I would definitely cut back next time. I did use a cup of whole wheat pastry flour and omitted the pineapples and coconut (don't like either in my carrot cake). Turned out fine. My glaze was not white like the picture because the cinnamon automatically darkens the glaze. Overall, this is a recipe worth keeping. Just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I just didn't care for the taste and texture of these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Awesome! My kids loved them! I added raisins too, and they were a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Made it as a bundt cake, substituted apple sauce for the oil,& cooked it for 40 minutes. So good & moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've made these twice, once as mini muffins (I took them to work and they were a big hit) and once as regular-sized muffins (when my in-laws came to visit; my MIL especially loved them). The only change I made was to reduce the sugar a bit (and to use the lemon juice with milk trick for the buttermilk, which we don't have here). The muffins were moist and tasted great. The recipe makes a lot of muffins, but they do freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Very moist and easy recipe. I halved the recipe and added some extra flour as it was a little too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Instead of oil, I add baby food carrots! Still is very moist and makes more "carroty"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waubeka, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States