Carrot Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I rarely cook from a box. This cake came out wonderful! The only change I made was to add 1 grated carrot to the mix :-D as another suggested. I'd put this one up against any totally from scratch recipe, any time! Also, I made creamcheese frosting from scratch, using 2, 8oz pkg cream cheese, 1.5 cups powdered sugar, 6 tbl unsalted butter and a 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I added one large grated carrot to the batter to make it look more authentic. I also added 1/2 finely chopped walnuts. I made it a few days ahead and refrigerated it. Before frosting the cake, I drizzled about 1/2 cup more pineapple juice on it for moisture. I frosted it with a simple cream cheese frosting and sprinkled it with toasted pecans and coconut. It got RAVE reviews from my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWARGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe is the one that's right on the back of the cake mix box except this uses three eggs rather than four. I made this with the four eggs as directed on the box. This isn't bad for a cake mix cake, but after mixing it up, baking it and then tasting it I wondered why I bothered with the mix. Given that you're already mixing up several ingredients, it would take very little extra effort to add the few additonal ingredients a scratch cake would require. I did add about a cup of shredded carrot, but again, I asked myself why I was tryng to make something taste homemade instead of actually making it homemade. Too many ingredients for what is still a cake mix tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Excellent quick box recipie. I bake and sell cakes and am always looking for better, faster, good tasting recipies. I did place the pineapple into a blender and blended for about ten seconds so I could slice through the cake for layering, otherwise the pineapple made it difficult to cut through without breaking up the very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
I made this cake, following the direction to cut the oil down to one cup, and it came out wonderful. I *did* soak up a little extra oil with a paper towel while it was cooling though. It's great (i'm not a fan of carrot cake) and everyone who tried it said it was the best carrot cake they've ever eaten. (Be forewarned though...I made the two layer round size, and when frosted, it weighed SEVEN POUNDS! It's very VERY moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. My family loved it and could not believe it was from a boxed mix. I added a small box of raisins and a handful of coconut to this recipe and it was absolutely wonderful!!! THis cake is a winner-I will only use this recipe when I need a carrot cake again. I already have a request for this cake this Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
these are really good. i added a half shredded carrot for a more home-made taste. i layered the cake in four and filled it with cream cheese frosting; the cake really held well. altogether, the taste reminded me of "pumpkin roll cake" in the site. i will never labor for carrot cake scratch anymore! , and probably will never make "pumpkin roll cake" again. thank you, submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
great recipe, no problems here or alterations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I couldn't find a carrot cake mix so I used a golden butter cake mix and added two cups of shredded carrot. It came out really moist but still had a cake mix flavor to me. Everyone else loved it. I definitely should have used more spice. Two teaspoons wasn't enough for the butter cake mix. Maybe some ginger and nutmeg could have helped to mask the cake mix flavor. I topped cake with cream cheese frosting and nuts. Super easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Excellent flavor - it got rave reviews at our Easter dinner. I did use my mini food processor on the pineapple as suggested (picky pineapple eaters couldn't taste it!). The cake was still very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States