Carrot Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I took this cake to work, and most people said it was just okay. It wasn't bad, and it's quick and easy but it still tasted like a mix to me. I added some shredded carrots to make it seem more "real", but over all, I would probably not bake this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
So easy and tastes like the real deal and not a box mix. I'm usually against making it from the box because it's not enough of a challenge but this was worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I rarely cook from a box. This cake came out wonderful! The only change I made was to add 1 grated carrot to the mix :-D as another suggested. I'd put this one up against any totally from scratch recipe, any time! Also, I made creamcheese frosting from scratch, using 2, 8oz pkg cream cheese, 1.5 cups powdered sugar, 6 tbl unsalted butter and a 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Excellent flavor - it got rave reviews at our Easter dinner. I did use my mini food processor on the pineapple as suggested (picky pineapple eaters couldn't taste it!). The cake was still very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
good and easy but couldn't cut it because it was`so crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I made this two days ago for my husbands birthday party. Everyone raved about it! I was so proud! I added one shredded carrot and a small box of rasins. By mistake I added pecans to the mix instead of walnuts. It didn't hurt it a bit. After frosting I sprinkled chopped walnuts on the top. It was pretty, super moist and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This was delicious. I added some raisins for extra flavor and frosted with cream cheese frosting. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was very good!! The next time I make this I'll have to give half of it away. lol I added raisins and iced it with cream cheese frosting. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORAKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I added one large grated carrot to the batter to make it look more authentic. I also added 1/2 finely chopped walnuts. I made it a few days ahead and refrigerated it. Before frosting the cake, I drizzled about 1/2 cup more pineapple juice on it for moisture. I frosted it with a simple cream cheese frosting and sprinkled it with toasted pecans and coconut. It got RAVE reviews from my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWARGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I made this recipe into cupcakes for Easter and frosted with cream cheese frosting. They were delicious and no one could tell they were from a mix. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States