Carrot Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I took this cake to work, and most people said it was just okay. It wasn't bad, and it's quick and easy but it still tasted like a mix to me. I added some shredded carrots to make it seem more "real", but over all, I would probably not bake this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
So easy and tastes like the real deal and not a box mix. I'm usually against making it from the box because it's not enough of a challenge but this was worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I rarely cook from a box. This cake came out wonderful! The only change I made was to add 1 grated carrot to the mix :-D as another suggested. I'd put this one up against any totally from scratch recipe, any time! Also, I made creamcheese frosting from scratch, using 2, 8oz pkg cream cheese, 1.5 cups powdered sugar, 6 tbl unsalted butter and a 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Excellent flavor - it got rave reviews at our Easter dinner. I did use my mini food processor on the pineapple as suggested (picky pineapple eaters couldn't taste it!). The cake was still very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
good and easy but couldn't cut it because it was`so crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I made this two days ago for my husbands birthday party. Everyone raved about it! I was so proud! I added one shredded carrot and a small box of rasins. By mistake I added pecans to the mix instead of walnuts. It didn't hurt it a bit. After frosting I sprinkled chopped walnuts on the top. It was pretty, super moist and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This was delicious. I added some raisins for extra flavor and frosted with cream cheese frosting. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was very good!! The next time I make this I'll have to give half of it away. lol I added raisins and iced it with cream cheese frosting. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORAKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I added one large grated carrot to the batter to make it look more authentic. I also added 1/2 finely chopped walnuts. I made it a few days ahead and refrigerated it. Before frosting the cake, I drizzled about 1/2 cup more pineapple juice on it for moisture. I frosted it with a simple cream cheese frosting and sprinkled it with toasted pecans and coconut. It got RAVE reviews from my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWARGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I made this recipe into cupcakes for Easter and frosted with cream cheese frosting. They were delicious and no one could tell they were from a mix. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States