Carrot Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this for easter and got SEVERAL recipes requests...now it's kind of embarrassing to send out a recipe whose base is a box mix, oh well:) My tweaks: Used 20 oz Duncan Hines mix and rehydrated the carrots& raisins in 1c hot water. Dumped it all in. Pureed the pineapple (bought rings on accident) with juice and dumped it all in. Cut oil to 1/4 cup. This made 2 nice 9-inch rounds. Used a combo of the cream cheese frosting recipes: 2 sticks of butter 3 8oz cream cheese 4 c powdered sugar 2 teaspoons vanilla (I was also frosting 2 dozen cupcakes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I couldn't find a carrot cake mix so I used a golden butter cake mix and added two cups of shredded carrot. It came out really moist but still had a cake mix flavor to me. Everyone else loved it. I definitely should have used more spice. Two teaspoons wasn't enough for the butter cake mix. Maybe some ginger and nutmeg could have helped to mask the cake mix flavor. I topped cake with cream cheese frosting and nuts. Super easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
great recipe, no problems here or alterations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This is so much like homemade! It was a little crumbly but I didnt mince up the pineapple. I did add 1/4 cup minced carrot and it was so good! Would be great with homemade cream cheese icing!! I'm going to add raisons next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was such a delicious alternative to the typical carrot cake. I made it for my friend's birthday and she loved it! Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kolinasiris
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
very great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
these are really good. i added a half shredded carrot for a more home-made taste. i layered the cake in four and filled it with cream cheese frosting; the cake really held well. altogether, the taste reminded me of "pumpkin roll cake" in the site. i will never labor for carrot cake scratch anymore! , and probably will never make "pumpkin roll cake" again. thank you, submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe is the one that's right on the back of the cake mix box except this uses three eggs rather than four. I made this with the four eggs as directed on the box. This isn't bad for a cake mix cake, but after mixing it up, baking it and then tasting it I wondered why I bothered with the mix. Given that you're already mixing up several ingredients, it would take very little extra effort to add the few additonal ingredients a scratch cake would require. I did add about a cup of shredded carrot, but again, I asked myself why I was tryng to make something taste homemade instead of actually making it homemade. Too many ingredients for what is still a cake mix tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States